Finding Articles
Search Tips
To search for a phrase, place it in quotation marks.
Examples:"united states"
"symphony orchestra"
"marriage of figaro"
"rite of spring"
|
To search for variants of a words, use wildcards.
 |
To vary a single letter in the middle of a word, use the question mark [?]tr?mpet* = trumpet and trompete
|
|
To catch variant spellings of a person's name, use the tilde [~]Rachmaninoff~ = Rachmaninov, Rachmaninof, etc.
|
|
To allow for variant endings of a word, use the asterisk [*]accompan* = accompaniment, accompanist, accompany, etc.)
|
|
To retrieve results that include ALL of your search terms, use AND.band AND orchestra |
|
To retrieve results that include any of your search terms, use OR."high schools" OR "secondary schools" |
|
To eliminate results that contain a term, use NOT.choral NOT chorale |
|
4. To write a highly focused search string, use AND, NOT, OR, and parentheses (and a few other search techniques).(band* OR orchestra*) AND ("high schools" OR "secondary schools") AND rehearsal* NOT choir*
|
Education Databases
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe APA PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association (APA) covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's peer-reviewed coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to 2,400 journals in more than 30 languages, and book chapters and books in the English language. Coverage spans 1600s – present and includes over 5 million peer-reviewed records.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
RECOMMEND USING CHROME
[Help Sheet for Search CINAHL - PDF] CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. NB: 20 concurrent user limit - Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
Music Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowRILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers nearly one and a half million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present. Includes the contents of the former RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature,
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 420 international music periodicals, plus full text for 83 journals.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window
This database covers 775 periodicals from 1975 to the present. Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new windowAn index including selected full text to a collection of primary source materials of more than eighty historical music periodicals in thirteen languages, published primarily in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.