Measuring Impact
Where to Publish
Image: Wired Magazine
- Contact your Librarianwith questions.
- Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)JANE matches your title, abstract, or keywords to millions of documents in MEDLINE to help determine the best journals for your research.
- EndNote Manuscript MatcherLog in to your EndNote Basic account and click on the Match tab on the top of the screen.
- MEDLINEIf you are working in a medical field, it is helpful to know that journals included in MEDLINE, accessible from the PubMed search platform, must meet a number of standards in order to be indexed. There are other subsets of PubMed, such as PMC, a free archive of biomedical literature which includes some journals included for MEDLINE. Although many PMC journals are credible, being “indexed for MEDLINE” is consistently an indicator of journal quality.
- NLM CatalogTo check journal indexing status.
- PsycNETCovers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Inclusion of a journal title in PsycNET generally indicates high quality.
- PsychINFO Journal Coverage ListFor journal title list.
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials DirectoryUse Ulrichsweb to find data on over 250,000 serials, periodicals, annuals, and newspapers worldwide. It includes reviews, abstracting and indexing information, email addresses, URLs, and other pertinent information.
Where Not to Publish
Image: Wallin & Klarich
Beall's List
From 2008 - Jan. 2017, Jeffrey Beall, a University of Colorado Denver librarian, maintained a list of predatory publishers. In January, 2017, the list was abruptly taken down. There are archived versions of the list that can be found online, but the list is no longer being maintained. There were critics of the list, including Joseph Esposito in The Scholarly Kitchen (December 16, 2013). Inside Higher Ed reported on the removal of Beall's List on January 18, 2017.
- How to Avoid Predatory Journals--A Five Point PlanBy Jocalyn Clark. The BMJ (January 19, 2015).
- Be iNFORMEdChecklist designed to help researchers determine whether or not to publish in a journal. Created by the Duke University Medical Center Library & Archives.
- Think. Check. Submit.A guide to help researchers identify trusted journals. This guide was created with support from several well-known publishing groups.
Evaluating Open Access Titles/Publishers
- Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE)Check the members list or COPE publishers, who have agreed to follow COPE Code of Conduct for Journal Editors.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsA community-curated directory of peer-reviewed journals.
- Directory of Open Access BooksA peer-reviewed directory of open access books.
- Open Access Scholarly Publisher's AssociationOASPA supports and represents the interests of Open Access (OA) journal and book publishers globally in all scientific, technical, and scholarly disciplines.