It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In preparing students to lead successful alternative break teams, this course focuses on techniques for planning trip logistics, educating students on social issues, and facilitating critical reflection. Development in theoretical approaches to service-learning specifically connected to service immersion leadership; variety of concepts including intersectionality of varied social and community issues, reflection and reciprocity, active citizenship and community building, practical implementation of skills from student's academic disciplines, leadership development, and other related areas.
[NOTE: This guide was created for Charlotte Brown's fall 2018 section of this course.]
Students will be able to:
Find accurate and useful information related to team topic and location
focus on a particular social issue (e.g. homelessness, food justice, gentrification, education equity, etc.)
nonprofits who address that issue in the city where they will travel to over spring break
Finding Local Community Information
Things to search for online about the local community, try Googling:
CQ ResearcherThis link opens in a new windowWritten by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
Credo Reference Academic CoreThis link opens in a new windowenable libraries to build deep, specific ebook collections from highly regarded publishers around the world. This Collection includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,000 short reference videos, nearly 300,000 high-resolution art images, and thousands of additional images across all subject areas.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
Access World News Research CollectionThis link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
America's News MagazinesThis link opens in a new windowCoverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from 26 familiar magazines.
Ethnic Newswatch CompleteThis link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
FactivaThis link opens in a new windowLos Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information. NB: 10 simultaneous user limit.
Newspaper Source PlusThis link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
Nexis Uni (formally LexisNexis)This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
TIP: Look for a link that says "Sources" or "Publications" to see if your city is represented by a publication in the database.
Social Issues Databases
Academic Search EliteThis link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
PAIS InternationalThis link opens in a new windowPAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. PAIS International contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 120 countries are included. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowFull text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews.
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC subject descriptors are listed in the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, available at the public service desks in the Hardin Library for the Health Sciencesand the Main Library as well as electronically through EBSCOhost or ProQuest. Full-text of ERIC documents from 1993 to the present is available from the ERIC website free. NOTE: There is a choice of interface based on user preference.
EconlitThis link opens in a new windowSource material in this database includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains more than 735,000 records covering 1969-present. The subjects covered within EconLit include accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and much more.
Urban Studies AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.
Search using OR between related search terms to get more results.
Example: gentrification OR urban renewal
Search using "double quotation marks" around a phrase for more precise results:
Example: "youth education"
Search using the built-in controlled vocabulary.
Example: a keyword search for "food insecurity" may lead you to the Subject Heading of food security
Search using an asterisk (*) at the end of a word or set of letters in order to get various endings of that word.
Examples: homeless* will provide results for homeless or homelessness;
educat* will provide results for education or educate or educated or educational, etc.