Home - Principles of Journalism, JMC 2300 - Guides at University of Iowa

Digital Course Textbook

Principles of American journalism : an introduction by Craft, Stephanie and Davis, Charles
ISBN: 9781317436454
Publication Date: 2016

In order to access the digital version of this book

Click the link above to access the book's library webpage
From the book's webpage, click "view full text."
Then click "download book" or "read online," whichever you prefer.

Selected Resources

AP Stylebook Online This link opens in a new window

Journalist's Resource
Guide from the Harvard Kennedy School
Journalist's Toolbox
Presented by the Society of Professional Journalists

Searching Tips

Google Tips
Twitter Tips
50+ Ways to Search Twitter
Poynter's Fact-Checking Guides
Information Strategies for Communicators
An open textbook by Nora Paul and Kathleen Hansen.

Library Databases and Tips

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
NB: 10 simultaneous user limit.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®.