A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City: Home
About this guide
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Resources for Gallery Visitors
ABOUT THE EXHIBITION
The International Writing Program (IWP) has brought close to 1,600 writers from more than 150 countries to the University of Iowa since 1967. In celebration of the program’s 55th anniversary, this exhibition tells the story of IWP’s genesis, its role in cultural diplomacy, Iowa City as a site of literary praxis and global networking, and the images of Iowa that writers have carried home with them through their work. Curators Nataša Ďurovičová and Lisa Gardinier dove into Special Collections & Archives materials, including the Paul Engle Papers, the International Writing Program Records, the Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records, and more while researching for the exhibition. A Hub, a Network, an Archive also includes items from the University of Iowa Libraries circulating collection, IWP’s Shambaugh House, and friends of IWP in addition to large portraits of writers by local photographer Thomas Langdon.
Exhibit Curation: Nataša Ďurovičová, Lisa Gardinier
CURATOR HIGHLIGHTS & EXHIBITION GUIDE
- Curator Highlights
See a selection of favorite exhibit items selected by the curators, including additional commentary. - A Hub, a Network, an Archive Exhibition Guide
Accessible PDF document. The complete guide to the exhibition, including curators' notes, a comprehensive item list, select photos, and complete exhibition credits. - Complete Bibliography for Books in the Front Display
Compiled by Lisa Gardinier, this bibliography represents the books displayed in Case 1 in the exhibition. The books were selected for either having been substantially developed – such as planned, written, and/or edited – in Iowa City during the author’s residency, or for content about Iowa based on the author’s experiences. - Virtual Gallery Tour of A Hub, a Network, an Archive
Click here to view the accessible version of this interactive content
VIDEOS
Coming soon.
VIDEOS: EXHIBIT EXTRAS
The following videos supplement topics in the exhibit.
The Medium is the Messenger, feat. Gozo Yoshimasu
Book Wings 2013: China
Community of the Imagination, 1973. Directed by Gerald Krell.
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS & UI LIBRARIES ARTICLES
- Celebrating 55 years of international writers at Iowa in the Main Library Gallery
August 29, 2022. Sara J. Pinkham. Exhibit summary and announcement with photos.
LINKS & NEWS ARTICLES
- UI's International Writing Program celebrates 55th anniversary with new exhibit at Main Library
August 30, 2022. Ariana Lessard. The Daily Iowan.
- University of Iowa celebrates 55 years of international writers on campus
