Archival sources
Most of IWP's documentary history is found in the Engle Papers and the IWP Records. Other contemporary collections include the Hualing Nieh Engle Papers [MsC 903], the Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records [MsC 461], and the Kim Merker Papers [MsC 805].
- Paul Engle Papers [Special Collections & Archives, MsC 514]: The papers of Paul Engle consist of 70.5 linear feet of records dating from approximately 1929 to 1988 and were transferred to the Special Collections Department at the time of his death in 1991. They document Engle's literary accomplishments, as well as his personal, professional and community interests. The papers are divided into six series: Personal Material, Professional Papers, Correspondence, Writings, Workshops, and Student Works.
- International Writing Program Records [Special Collections & Archives, RG06.0012.009]: Includes annual reports, audiovisual material, "black binders" (typescript drafts for workshop circulation), and participant files for writers up to 1996.
Digital collections
- International Writing Program website: IWP's website includes a list of participating writers with bios, writing samples, and bibliographies for participants since 1996. Audiovisual content includes On the Map interviews with residents and interested readers will also find details on other programs, such as Book Wings and Between the Lines, and projects, like Whitman Web.
- Virtual Writing University Archive (Iowa Digital Library): Includes audiovisual recordings of readings and panels.
- International Writing Program Collection (Iowa Digital Library): Writing samples and panel papers in PDF format.
IWP publications
This bibliography is primarily print material edited by or otherwise sponsored by the International Writing Program since 1967. The Iowa Translations series was the initial major editing project, notably as a national anthology series from the University of Iowa Press, 1970-1984. The series title was also used for translations of single authors published by IWP, without the UI Press, during roughly the same time period. More recently, the 91st Meridian series is co-published with Autumn Hill Books. Similarly, this bibliography includes a section on works published by IWP participants with small press projects in and near Iowa City, including Windhover Press, the precursor to the UI Center for the Book. Within sections, entries are arranged chronologically. Almost all titles are held by the University of Iowa Libraries.
While this bibliography does include a short list of documentary films, it does not include the vast collection of recorded interviews and readings, many of which have been digitized and made available through the Virtual Writing University Archive in the UI Libraries’ Iowa Digital Library, see Digital Collections to the left.
The Iowa Translations series was the initial major editing project, notably as a national anthology series from the University of Iowa Press, 1970-1984. IWP was instrumental in identifying editors and offering various levels of editorial and translation assistance. Correspondence and drafts related to these projects can be found in the Paul Engle Papers, MsC 514. The titles published by UI Press are mostly anthologies by nation of contemporary poetry in translation. The series title was also used for translations of single authors published by IWP, without the UI Press, during roughly the same time period (see the tab IWP as publisher).
- Ko Won, ed., Contemporary Korean poetry (1970). [Main Library Stacks PL984.E3 K57 and Special Collections]
- Yip Wai-lim, ed., Modern Chinese poetry: Twenty poets from the Republic of China, 1955-1965 (1970). [Main Library Stacks PL2658.E3 Y5 and Special Collections]
- Mihai Eminescu, The last Romantic, trans. Roy MacGregor-Hastie (1972). [Main Library Stacks PC839.E5 A25 and Special Collections]
- Kijima Hajime, ed., The poetry of postwar Japan (1975). [Main Library Stacks PL782.E3 K5 and Special Collections]
- Vasa D. Mihailovich, ed., Contemporary Yugoslav poetry (1977). [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- John Glad and Daniel Weissbort, eds., Russian poetry: The modern period (1978). [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Bernhard Frank, ed. & trans., Modern Hebrew poetry (1980). [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Sigurður A. Magnússon, ed., The postwar poetry of Iceland (1982). [Main Library Stacks PT7467 .E5 1980 and Special Collections]
- Inara Cedrins, ed., Contemporary Latvian poetry (1984). [Main Library Stacks PG9145.E3 C66 1984 and Special Collections]
Not all publications below are produced by IWP, but the content is exclusively and intentionally former IWP participants and staff.
- Paul Engle and Hualing Nieh Engle, eds. Writing from the world. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1977. [Main Library Stacks PN6019 .E5 and Special Collections]
- Marilyn Chin, David Hamilton, and Walter Knupfer, eds. Writing from the world II: Selections from the International Writing Program, 1977-1983. Iowa City: International Writing Program, School of Letters, University of Iowa, 1985. [Main Library Government Stacks 17-U582SL 2:W93 (UI) and Special Collections; also published as a special issue of The Iowa Review.]
- Paul Engle, Rowena Torrevillas, and Hualing Nieh Engle, eds. The world comes to Iowa. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1987. [Main Library Stacks PN6014 .W632 1987 and Special Collections]
- Shin Tong-choon, ed. World poets from Iowa. Paul Engle, intro. Seoul: Sun-kyung Computer Press, 1990. [WorldCat]
- Hasna Jasimuddin Moudud. Forest in a cloud: A collection of poems. Dhaka?: Academic Press and Publishers Library, 2006. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.4.M68 F67 2006 and Special Collections]
- Alan Hayes and Christopher Merrill, eds. Town stitched by river: Irish writers at the International Writing Program, University of Iowa. Dublin: Dublin UNESCO City of Literature; Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa; Iowa City UNESCO City of Literature, 2015. [Main Library Stacks PN6069.I73 T69 2014 and Special Collections]
- Myay Hmone Lwin and Nataša Ďurovičová, eds. A knot is where you tie a piece of rope: Burmese writing in Iowa. Yangon: NDSP, 2015. [Main Library Stacks PL3971 .K66 2015 and Special Collections]
- Christopher Merrill. Twenty-five translations of “A fairy tale”. Laura Wang, ed. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 2015. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 T93 2015 and Special Collections]
Special issues
- International Writing Program. Modern Poetry in Translation, no. 19-20 (1974). [Main Library Periodicals (3rd floor)]
- International Writing Program anthology. The Iowa Review 7, no.2-3 (1976). [full text]
- Writing from the world: Selections from the International Writing Program, 1977-1983. The Iowa Review 14, no. 2 (1984). [full text]
- A salute to Iowa’s International Writing Program at twenty. World Literature Today 61, no. 3 (1987). [full text (UI only) and Special Collections]
Most of the titles up to 1980 were published as an extension of the Iowa Translation series with the University of Iowa Press. Since then, IWP has sporadically published chapbooks and anthologies generated from its various programs. It also regularly co-publishes with allied presses, notably Autumn Hill Books (see Co-publications).
- Vasko Popa. Earth erect [Uspravna zemlja]. Anne Pennington, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1973. [Main Library Stacks PG1419.26.O48 U813 1973 and Special Collections]
- Nichita Stănescu. The still unborn about the dead: Selected poems. Petru Popescu and Peter Jay, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1974. [Main Library Stacks PC840.29.T345 A26 and Special Collections]
- Antonín Bartušek. The Aztec calendar and other poems. Ewald Osers, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1975. [Main Library Stacks PG5038.B34 A26 1975 and Special Collections]
- Ștefan Aug. Doinaș. Alibi and other poems. Peter Jay and Virgil Nemoianu, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1975. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Johannes Bobrowski. From the rivers. Ruth Mead and Matthew Read, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1975. [Main Library Stacks PT2603.O13 A5 1975]
- Tristán Solarte. The rule of three. Ernesto Trejo, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1976. [Main Library Stacks PQ7529.S33 A28 and Special Collections]
- Evgeny Vinokurov. The war is over. Anthony Rudolf and Daniel Weissbort, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1976. [Main Library Stacks PG3476.V534 A27 1976 and Special Collections]
- Ágnes Nemes Nagy. Selected poems. Bruce Berlind, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1980. [Main Library Stacks PH3291.N385 A23 and Special Collections]
- Zhongguo zhou mo: Aihehua yi ci hai nei wai Hua ren zuo jia di sheng hu 中國周末: 愛荷華一次海内外華人作家的盛會 [China Weekend: A grand gathering of Chinese writers at home and abroad in Iowa]. Proceedings, Chinese Weekend, Iowa City, September 1979. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1980. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2303 .C485 1980 and Special Collections]
- 100 words (1994-1998). [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Carolyn Brown, ed. Autumn leaves. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1995. [Special Collections]
- Efrat Mishori. As far as Efrat: Translated poems. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 2009. [Special Collections]
- Armen of Armenia [Armen Ohanyan] and Nazmi Ağıl. Two short stories; 24 poems. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 2015. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- Lanterns of hope: A poetry project for Iraqi youth. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 2016. [full text; Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- Marin Sorescu. Frames: Twenty-five poems. Roy MacGregor-Hastie, trans. Bucharest: Eminescu Publishing House; Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1972. [Main Library Stacks PC840.29.O74 R3 1972 and Special Collections]
- Katerina Anghelaki-Rooke. The body is the victory and the defeat of dreams [Soma einai ē nikē kai ē ētta tōn oneirōn]. Philip Ramp, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa; San Francisco: The Wire Press, 1975. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Attila József. Selected poems and texts. John Bátki, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program; Manchester: Carcanet Press, 1976. [Main Library Stacks PH3281.J64 A23 1976]
- Nikolai Klyuev. Poems. John Glad, trans. Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa; Ann Arbor: Ardis Publishing, 1977. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- S. Henry Cordor. Facing the realities of the Liberian nation: A brief study of the major problems and prospects of the West African republic of Liberia. Iowa City: International Writing Program, School of Letters, University of Iowa; Philadelphia: Institute for Liberian Studies, 1980. [Main Libraries Stacks DT636.2 .C67 1980 and Special Collections]
- Toma Longinović. Moment of silence. San Francisco: Burning Books; Iowa City: International Writing Program, University of Iowa, 1990. [Main Library Stacks PS3562.O52 M6 1990]
- Sabit Madaliev. The silence of the Sufi. Russell Scott Valentino, trans. Iowa City: Autumn Hill Books, 2006. [Main Library Stacks BP189.5 .M34 2006]
- Alvin Pang, ed. Tumasik: Contemporary writing from Singapore. Iowa City: 91st Meridian, Autumn Hill Books; Singapore: National Arts Council, 2010. [Main Library Stacks PR9570.S52 T86 2010]
- Mani Rao. Bhagavad gita: A translation of the poem. Iowa City: 91st Meridian, Autumn Hill Books, 2010. [WorldCat]
- Beaudelaine Pierre and Nataša Ďurovičová, eds. How to write an earthquake: Comment écrire et quoi écrire mo pou 12 Janvye. Iowa City: Autumn Hill Books; International Writing Program, 2011. [Main Library Stacks QE535.2.H2 H69 2011]
- Nataša Ďurovičová and Christopher Merril, eds. The new symposium: Poets and writers on what we hold in common. Iowa City: 91st Meridian; Autumn Hill Books, 2012. [Main Library Stacks PN81 .N435 2012]
- Nataša Ďurovičová and Hugh Ferrer, eds. Fall and rise, American style: Eight international writers between Gettysburg and the Gulf. Iowa City: 91st Meridian Books; Bloomington: Autumn Hill Books, 2015. [Main Library Stacks F216.2 .F35 2015]
- Marjan Strojan. Dells and hollows. Sydney Lea, trans. Bloomington: Autumn Hill Books; Iowa City: 91st Meridian, 2016. [Main Library Stacks PG1919.29.T755 D455 2016]
- Nataša Ďurovičová and Christopher Merrill, eds. The same gate: A collection of writings in the spirit of Rumi. Iowa City: 91st Meridian Books; Bloomington: Autumn Hill Books, 2018. [Main Library Stacks PK6482 .S353 2018]
- José Eugenio Sánchez. Here the sun’s for real. Anna Rosenwong, trans. Bloomington: Autumn Hill Books, 2018. [Main Library Stacks PQ7298.29.A41485 A2 2018]
Other publications with known IWP sponsorship
- Lev Mak. From the night & other poems. Daniel Weissbort, ed. Ann Arbor: Ardis, 1978. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Bozhidar Bozhilov, ed. Modern Bulgarian poetry. Roy MacGregor-Hastie, trans. Sofia: Sofia Press, 1976. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Shrikant Varma, ed. Poetry festival, India. New Delhi: Indian Council for Cultural Relations, 1985. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
IWP residents have collaborated since the beginning with small presses in Iowa City and surrounding areas, starting with Windhover Press, which later evolved into the UI Center for the Book.
- Ya Hsien. Salt [Yan 鹽]. Iowa City: Windhover Press, University of Iowa, 1968. [Special Collections]
- Tahereh Saffarzadeh. The red umbrella. Iowa City: Windhover Press, University of Iowa, 1969. [Special Collections]
- Gunnar Harding. The fabulous life of Guillaume Apollinaire. Sydney Bernard Smith, trans. Iowa City: Windhover Press, University of Iowa, 1970. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Wan Kin-lau. The ivory street. Iowa City: Golden Scissor Press, 1971. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Artur Międzyrzecki. 14 poems. John Bátki, trans. Iowa City: Windhover Press, University of Iowa, 1972. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Tomaž Šalamun. Turbines. Anselm Hollo and Elliott Anderson, trans. Iowa City: Windhover Press, University of Iowa, 1973. [Main Library Stacks Z239.W5 S32 1973 and Special Collections]
- Tomaž Šalamun. Snow. West Branch: Toothpaste Press, 1973. [Special Collections]
- John Bátki. The mad shoemaker. West Branch: Toothpaste Press, 1973. [Special Collections]
- Dario Jaramillo Agudelo. Rincón poético; Poetic corner; Coin poétique. David William Young and Katerina Anghelaki-Rooke, trans. Iowa City: Pacific Inland Press, 1975. [Main Library Stacks PQ8180.2.A657 R55 1975 and Special Collections]
- Cezar Baltag. Unicorn in the looking-glass [Unicorn în oglindă]. Stravros Deligiorgis, trans. Iowa City: Corycian Press, 1979. [Special Collections]
- Marin Sorescu. Don Quijote's tender years [Tinerețea lui Don Quijote]. Stavros Deligiogis, trans. Iowa City: Corycian Press, 1979. [Main Library Stacks PC840.29.O74 T513 and Special Collections]
- José Hidalgo. Otoño, otra vez la hierba. Iowa City, 1981. [Special Collections]
- Grozdana Olujić. Rose of Mother-of-pearl: A fairy tale. Grozdana Olujić and Jascha Kessler, trans. West Branch: Hot Chocolate Books, 1983. [Special Collections]
- U Sam Oeur. Selections from Sacred Vows. Iowa City: Zephyr Limited Edition Chapbook, 1994. [Main Library Stacks PL4328.9.U16 S234 1994 and Special Collections]
- Luis Bravo. Lichen [Liquen]. William F. Blair and Pablo Rodríguez Balbontín, trans. Iowa City: Song Bridge Press, 2014. [Main Library Stacks PQ8520.12.R38 L53 2014]
- Mara Genschel. Cute Gedanken. Iowa City: Urs Engeler, 2017. [Main Library Stacks PT2707.E58 C88 2017 and Special Collections]
- Manuel Becerra. Writings on the other animals [La escritura de los animales distintos]. Kathleen Archer, trans. Iowa City: Song Bridge Project, 2022. [Main Library Stacks PQ7298.412.E244 E73 2021 and Special Collections]
Broadsides
- Tomaž Šalamun. The deer braids the turtle. Christopher Merrill and Tomaž Šalamun, trans. Iowa City: Empyrean Press, 2006. [Special Collections]
- Chuan Xi. Yin ying; Shadow; Skia. Inara Cedrins and Anastassis Vistonitis, trans. Iowa City: Empyrean Press, 2008. [Special Collections]
- Eavan Boland. Atlantis: A lost sonnet. Iowa City: University of Iowa Center for the Book, 2009. [Special Collections]
- Paul Engle. For Ai Qing. Iowa City: Kimberly Maher, 2019. [Special Collections IN PROCESS]
- Community of the imagination (Gerald Krell, dir., 1973). [Main Library Media Collection and Special Collections]
- A community of writers (Jennifer New and Jennifer Proctor, dir., 2008). [Special Collections]
- City of literature (Ben Hill, dir., 2012). [Special Collections]
- San sheng san shi Nie Hualing 三生三世聶華苓 [One tree, three lives] (Chen Anqi 陳安琪, dir., 2012). [Main Library Media Permanent Reserve and Special Collections]
IWP directors
IWP's directors have all been established writers, balancing creative endeavors and arts administration.
- Paul Engle, 1966-1977
- Hualing Nieh Engle, 1977-1988
- Clark Blaise, 1990-1998
- Christopher Merrill, 2000-present
Professors Fredrick Woodard (1988-1990) and Sandra Barkan (1998-2000) served as interim directors.
- Worn earth. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1932. [Special Collections]
- American song. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, Doran, 1934. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 A7 1934 and Special Collections]
- Break the heart's anger. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, Doran, 1936. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Corn. New York: Doubleday, Doran, 1939. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 C6 1939 and Special Collections]
- Always the land. New York: Random House, 1941. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 A4 and Special Collections]
- West of midnight. New York: Random House, 1941. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 W4 1941 and Special Collections]
- American child: A sonnet sequence. New York: Random House, 1945. [Special Collections]
- Word of love. New York: Random House, 1951. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- American child: Sonnets for my daughters. New York: Dial, 1956. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 A68 1956 and Special Collections]
- Poems in praise. New York: Random House, 1959. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 P6 and Special Collections]
- Prairie Christmas. New York: Longmans, Green, 1960. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Golden child. New York: Dutton, 1962. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Who's afraid? New York: Crowell-Collier, 1963. [Special Collections]
- Old-fashioned Christmas. New York: Dial, 1964. [Main Library Stacks GT4985 .E58 1964 and Special Collections]
- A woman unashamed and other poems. New York: Random House, 1965. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- Embrace: Selected love poems. New York: Random House, 1969. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 A17 1969 and Special Collections]
- Women in the American Revolution. Chicago: Follett, 1976. [Libraries Annex and Special Collections]
- A lucky American childhood. Iowa City: University of Iowa Press, 1996. [Main Library Stacks PS3509.N44 Z468 1996 and Special Collections]
- Ge teng 葛藤 [Kudzu]. Taipei: Zi you Zhongguo she 自由中國社, 1956. [WorldCat]
- Fei cui mao 翡翠貓 [Jade cat]. Taipei: Ming hua 明華, 1959. [WorldCat]
- The purse, and three other stories of Chinese life. Taipei: Heritage Press, 1962. [Main Library Stacks PL2856.N4 A25 and Special Collections]
- Yi duo xiao bai hua 一朵小白花 [A small white flower]. Taipei: Wen xing shu dian 文星書店, 1963. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 I2 and Special Collections]
- Shi qu de jin ling zi 失去的金鈴子 [The lost golden bell]. Taipei: Wen xing shu dian 文星書店, 1964. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 S5 and Special Collections]
- Meng gu ji 夢谷集 [The valley of dreams]. Hong Kong: Zheng wen chu ban she 正文出版社, 1965. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 M4 1965 and Special Collections]
- Shen Ts'ung-wen. New York: Twayne, 1972. [Main Library Stacks PL2801.N18 Z64 and Special Collections]
- Sang Qing yu Taohong 桑青與桃紅. Jiulong: You lian chu ban she 友聨出版社, 1976. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 S3 and Special Collections]
- English translation: Two women of China: Mulberry and Peach. Jane Parish Yang and Linda Lappin, trans. Beijing: New World Press, 1981. [Main Library Stacks PL2856.N4 S313 and Special Collections]
- San shi nian hou: gui ren zha ji (yi jiu ji ba nian wu yue shi san ri--liu yue shi jiu ri) 三十年后: 归人札记 (一九七八年五月十三日--六月十九日) [Thirty years later]. Wuhan: Hubei ren min chu ban she, Hubei sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing 湖北人民出版社, 湖北省新华书店发行, 1980. [Special Collections]
- Taiwan yi shi 台湾轶事 [Taiwan stories]. Beijing: Beijing chu ban she, Xin hua shu dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing 北京出版社, 新华书店北京发行所发行, 1980. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 T35 1980 and Special Collections]
- Wang Danian de ji jian xi shi 王大年的幾件喜事. Hong Kong: Hai yang wen yi she 海洋文藝社, 1980. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 W3 and Special Collections]
- Aihehua zha ji: san shi nian hou 愛荷華札記: 三十年後 [Iowa notes]. Hong Kong: Sheng huo, du shu, xin zhi san lian shu dian 生活・讀書・新知 三聯書店, 1981. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 Z73 1981 and Special Collections]
- Hei se, hei se, zui mei li di yan se 黑色, 黑色, 最美麗的顏色 [Black, black, the most beautiful color]. Hong Kong: San lian shu dian Xianggang fen dian 三聯書店香港分店, 1983. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856 .N4 H4 1986 and Special Collections]
- Qian shan wai, shui chang liu 千山外, 水長流 [Far away, a river]. Chengdu: Sichuan ren min chu ban she, Sichuan sheng xin hua shu dian fa xing 四川人民出版社, 四川省新华书店发行, 1984. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 C5 1984 and Special Collections]
- San shi nian hou: meng you gu yuan 三十年後: 夢遊故園 [Thirty years later: Sleepwalking homeland]. Taipei: Han yi se yan wen hua shi ye you xian gong si, Zong jing xiao Jin de tu shu shi ye you xian gong si 漢藝色研文化事業有限公司, 總經銷錦德圖書事業有限公司, 1988. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 Z474 1988 and Special Collections]
- Ren, zai nian shi ji 人, 在廿世紀 [People, 20th century]. Teaneck, N.J.: Ba fang wen hua qi ye gong si 八方文化企業公司, 1990. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 J46 1990 and Special Collections]
- Lu yuan qing shi 鹿園情事 [Tales from the deer garden]. Taipei: Shi bao wen hua chu ban qi ye gu fen you xian gong si 時報文化出版企業股份有限公司, 1996. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 Z77 1996 and Special Collections]
- San sheng san shi 三生三世 [Three lives, three worlds]. Taipei: Huang guan wen hua chu ban you xian gong si 皇冠文化出版有限公司, 2004. [Main Library Chinese Collection PL2856.N4 Z46 2004 and Special Collections]
- A North American education. Toronto: Doubleday, 1973. [Libraries Annex]
- Tribal justice. Toronto: Doubleday, 1974. [Libraries Annex]
- Days and nights in Calcutta, with Bharati Mukherjee. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1977. [Libraries Annex]
- Lunar attractions. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1979. [Libraries Annex]
- Lusts. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1983. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 L82 1983]
- Resident alien. Markham, Ont.: Penguin, 1986. [Libraries Annex]
- The sorrow and the terror: The haunting legacy of the Air India tragedy, with Bharati Mukherjee. Markham, Ont.: Viking, 1987. [Main Library Stacks HV6431 .B57 1987]
- Man and his world. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 1992. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 M35 1992]
- I had a father: A post-modern autobiography. Reading, Mass.: Addison-Wesley, 1993. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 Z465 1993]
- If I were me. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 1997. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 I37 1997]
- Southern stories. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 2000. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 S68 2000]
- Time lord: Sir Sandford Fleming and the creation of standard time. New York: Pantheon, 2000. [Special Collections]
- Pittsburgh stories. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 2001. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- Montreal stories. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 2003. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- World body. Erin, Ont.: Porcupine's Quill, 2006. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- The meagre tarmac. Emeryville, Ont.: Biblioasis, 2011. [Main Library Stacks PR9199.3.B48 M43 2011]
- Workbook. Santa Fe: Teal Press, 1988. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- Fevers & tides. Santa Fe: Teal Press, 1989. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- The grass of another country: A journey through the world of soccer. New York: H. Holt, 1993. [Main Library Stacks GV943 .M475 1993]
- Watch fire. Fredonia, N.Y.: White Pine Press, 1994. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 W38 1994]
- The old bridge: The third Balkan War and the age of the refugee. Minneapolis: Milkweed Editions, 1995. [Main Library Stacks DR1313.7.R43 M467 1995]
- Only the nails remain: Scenes from the Balkan wars. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 1999. [Main Library Stacks DR1313.8 .M48 1999]
- Brilliant water. Buffalo: White Pine Press, 2001. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 B75 2001]
- Things of the hidden god: Journey to the Holy Mountain. New York: Random House, 2005. [Main Library Stacks BX385.A8 M47 2005 and Special Collections]
- The tree of the doves: Ceremony, expedition, war. Minneapolis: Milkweed Editions, 2011. [Main Library Stacks HV6431 .M463 2011]
- Boat. North Adams, Mass.: Tupelo Press, 2013. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 B63 2013]
- Necessities. Buffalo: White Pine Press, 2013. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 N42 2013 and Special Collections]
- After the fact: Scripts & postscripts, with Marvin Bell. Buffalo: White Pine Press, 2016. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
- Self-portrait with dogwood. San Antonio: Trinity University Press, 2017. [Main Library Stacks PS3563.E74519 A6 2017]
- Flares. Buffalo: White Pine Press, 2021. [Main Library Stacks IN PROCESS]
