International News -- Sources and Analysis: Featured Resources
International News -- Sources and Analysis
Getting Started
The University of Iowa Libraries is your gateway to library resources including the InfoHawk+, journal article databases, electronic journals and books, government information, and many more web-based resources.
To access scholarly journal literature, do keyword searches in the "Key databases" box
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:FullText" link next to each citation in your results list to access material
Congressional Research Service Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) produces analytical reports on topics of interest to Congress. There are several ways to find these reports. Recently, CRS Reports became available from an open government web site. Reports are also available in ProQuest Congressional -- a subscription database. Open CRS is a free and open source web site but is not complete.
International News Databases
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowLos Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
NB: 10 simultaneous user limit. - Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new window Foreign Affairs has been the leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs. It is now a multiplatform media organization with a print magazine, a website, a mobile site, various apps and social media feeds, an event business, and more. Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a non-profit and nonpartisan membership organization dedicated to improving the understanding of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs through the free exchange of ideas.The magazine’s first issue led with a statement setting out an editorial vision that has remained constant ever since.
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
- New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new windowAccess to the nytimes.com. How to access the UI LIbraries subscription to the nytimes.com:
Register at http://AccessNYT.com and then use https://www.nytimes.com/ for access afterwards. You must register annually to keep access.
After registration you will be able to access the resource on any device. Access news articles from 1980 to the present. When accessing it on campus we have NO access to 1923-1980 but if you are off-campus you have 5 articles per day for 1923-1980 content (due to a lawsuit between publisher and vendor), all other years are available on and off campus.
Note: Our subscription does include the NYT Book Review; does not include the full size crossword puzzle.
- World News ConnectionWNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.
- World Politics Review This link opens in a new window World Politics Review provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give policymakers, analysts, academics and readers with a deep interest in international affairs the context they need to have the confidence they want. Though strictly nonpartisan with regard to political party affiliation or allegiance, WPR can be broadly described as liberal internationalist, combining a reality-based approach that recognizes the need for all the tools and instruments of statecraft, with a preference for diplomacy and multilateralism in support of a rules- and norms-based global order.
Key Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984- .
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAn exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and much more. This authoritative database provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. With over 800,000 records, Historical Abstracts is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature.
- PAIS InternationalPAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. PAIS International contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 120 countries are included.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
International Studies Librarian
Country Information & Analysis
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowEconomic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.