Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Resource: Poster Women
"In 2006 Zubaan began a new and fascinating project: Poster Women, a visual mapping of the women’s movement in India through the posters the movement had produced. The idea was to ask what the history of the movement would look like through its posters and the visual images it had used, the various campaigns that the movement has engaged with and the forms these campaigns have taken over a period of time.... The posters in the archive have been thematically organized and the attempt has been annotated in detail, mentioning the date, the campaign, the designer, the story/concept behind the poster, how it was used, the feedback and, where available, short essays that provide background information so that a complete archive is created that demonstrates the richness of the movement."
Featured Resource: Foundation for Ecological Security
Foundation for Ecological Security
Spread across diverse ecological and social geographies, FES works towards conservation of nature and natural resources through collective action of local communities. The crux of FES efforts lie in locating forests and other natural resources within the prevailing economic, social and ecological dynamics in rural landscapes. Globally, FES hopes to see an increasing influence on two fundamental issues in governing shared natural resources a socio-ecological systems approach and a Commons paradigm, which together could have far-reaching impact on world views on development.
UI Libraries' InfoHawk+
Tool searches the Libraries print and digital collections, plus several on-line article databases.
Click on the "UIowa InfoLink:Full Text" link next to each citation in your results list for InfoLink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
India's Organic Farming Revolution by
Call Number: Main Library Stacks S605.5 .T56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Available as an e-book and in print.
Should you buy organic food? Is it just a status symbol, or is it really better for us? Is it really better for the environment? What about organic produce grown thousands of miles from our kitchens, or on massive corporately owned farms? Is "local" or "small-scale" better, even if it's not organic? A lot of consumers who would like to do the right thing for their health and the environment are asking such questions. Sapna Thottathil calls on us to rethink the politics of organic food by focusing on what it means for the people who grow and sell it--what it means for their health, the health of their environment, and also their economic and political well-being. Taking readers to the state of Kerala in southern India, she shows us a place where the so-called "Green Revolution" program of hybrid seeds, synthetic fertilizers, and rising pesticide use had failed to reduce hunger while it caused a cascade of economic, medical, and environmental problems. Farmers burdened with huge debts from buying the new seeds and chemicals were committing suicide in troubling numbers. Farm laborers suffered from pesticide poisoning and rising rates of birth defects. A sharp fall in biodiversity worried environmental activists, and everyone was anxious about declining yields of key export crops like black pepper and coffee. In their debates about how to solve these problems, farmers, environmentalists, and policymakers drew on Kerala's history of and continuing commitment to grassroots democracy. In 2010, they took the unprecedented step of enacting a policy that requires all Kerala growers to farm organically by 2020. How this policy came to be and its immediate economic, political, and physical effects on the state's residents offer lessons for everyone interested in agriculture, the environment, and what to eat for dinner. Kerala's example shows that when done right, this kind of agriculture can be good for everyone in our global food system.
Non-Academic (Trade) Books
Intergovernmental Organization Research & Data
Ted Talks & Other Video Presentations
Librarian for South Asian Studies