Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guides

ENGL:2013 Reading and Writing About Poetry: Home

Collection of resources useful for ENGL:2013 Reading and Writing About Poetry, Fall 2020, Phillip Round

Welcome!

Welcome to the guide for ENGL:2013 Reading and Writing About Poetry. The information in this guide will help provide some general library information for Fall 2020, information on some useful databases, and resources for MLA citation. If you are struggling with your research or just have questions, please ask!

Library Links

HathiTrust

Effective immediately and until normal access to physical collections resumes, students, faculty, and staff at the University of Iowa have online access to a large portion of the University Libraries’ print collection—volumes that would have been difficult to access from library facilities that are closed due to COVID-19.

Reading access to digitized copies of print volumes has been granted to the UI by HathiTrust, a not-for-profit, collaborative digital library that holds over 17 million volumes digitized from academic and research libraries. The UI Libraries, in collaboration with the Big Ten Academic Alliance, is a founding member of HathiTrust.

This means that any books available through HathiTrust that are also in the UI Libraries’ collections will be available online without the additional step of requesting a digital scan. HathiTrust’s online collection contains nearly half of the UI Libraries’ book collection.

To take advantage of this resource:

  1. Visit HathiTrust and click the yellow “LOG IN” button.
  2. Select “University of Iowa” and log with your HawkID.
  3. Use the site to locate the item you wish to view.
  4. Click on the Temporary Access link at the bottom of the record to check out the item through the Emergency Temporary Access Service.
  5. You will have 60 minutes of access to the book during any session. If you remain active in the book during any session, access time will be extended.
  6. Please note that it is not possible to download books from HathiTrust. This is to protect authors’ rights.

HathiTrust has provided detailed instructions, including how to use the service on a phone or tablet.  

Please note that texts included in the HathiTrust collection will not be loanable, even if the book is on our shelves.

For help with access to these and other digital resources at the UI Libraries, please contact us.

Librarian

Rita Soenksen's picture
Rita Soenksen
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319) 467-4617

UI Libraries Coronavirus Updates

Get the most up-to-date information on using the library during COVID-19 at this link:

https://www.lib.uiowa.edu/alerts/coronavirus/