Suggested Search Terms about Authors and Texts
- Carter, Angela, 1940-1992
- Carter, Angela, 1940-1992, The Company of Wolves
- Carter, Angela, 1940-1992 -- Criticism and interpretation
- "Angela Carter" AND "author"
- Hurston, Zora Neale, 1891-1960
- Hurston, Zora Neale, 1891-1960 -- Criticism and interpretation
- Hurston, Zora Neale, 1891-1960, Their Eyes Were Watching God
- Jackson, Shirley, 1916-1965
- Jackson, Shirley, 1916-1965, We Have Always Lived in the Castle
- Jackson, Shirley, 1916-1965 -- Criticism and interpretation
Research Tips
- Log in to InfoHawk+ and save your searches and promising results.
- Generate phrases and words that are used with your topic; search all of them.
- Utilize the work others have done - look at the references/bibliographies in articles, books, and dissertations.
- The "Subjects" section of the item record in InfoHawk+ may contain useful search terms to investigate.
- InfoHawk+ doesn't catalog everything - try your searches in databases as well but be prepared for some duplication.
- Filter your results in InfoHawk+ by using the options on the left of the screen - date, subject, peer-reviewed, etc.
- When trying to get base knowledge, putting the subject in InfoHawk and looking at "Reference Entry" results that show up can give reliable background info and new terms to search for.
- If we don't have an article you need, request it via InterLibrary Loan. They will typically email you a pdf of the article within a few days.
Suggested Databases about Authors and Texts
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Suggested Resources for Historical Context
- 20th Century American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window20th-Century American Newspapers provides access to the issues of major U.S. newspapers published after 1922. Each series is cross-searchable via the integrated America's Historical Newspapers interface that allows users to easily view, magnify, print and save digital page images. Each title is also available individually as part of American Newspaper Archives.
- African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowIncludes Series 1 (1827-1998) AND Series 2 (1835-1956). Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers is a record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more