URES:1000 Discover Research: Welcome & Introduction
Welcome!
Welcome to the UI Libraries!
Our names are Cathy Cranston and Jenay Dougherty. We are both librarians at the UI Libraries. Cathy and Jenay are Undergraduate Engagement Librarians at the Main Library. We're happy to answer any and all questions you have about research and the Libraries. Our emails and contact information are on this guide.
Laurie Neuerburg is a Science Librarian and she'd be happy to help with any questions you have about resources for your Science research assignments.
Jenay Dougherty
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-0753-4975Cranston, Cathy
Contact me.
InfoHawk+
What can InfoHawk+ help me find?
InfoHawk+ searches our physical materials (books, DVDs, etc.). It's the tool you need to use to find a book on the shelf, or an e-book online. Books are only part of what it can find.
It will also search a wide range of electronic resources, including Iowa Research Online, selected major databases in a diverse set of academic disciplines, and items unique to the UI Libraries like those in our Iowa Digital Collections.
InfoHawk+ Tutorials
Your friendly University of Iowa Librarians created these tutorials to help you learn how to use InfoHawk+ like a pro. If you have any questions, please ask a librarian.
-
InfoHawk+: BooksBasic techniques to perform a search and use filters to focus your results effectively.
-
InfoHawk+: ArticlesUsing InfoHawk+ to find articles.
-
My Library Account
Customize your InfoHawk+ account. Save searches, create lists, and more.
Library Databases
- Academic Search EliteThis database is good for finding scholarly articles on every subject or discipline. Most majors and students from all over generally use this database.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
- PubMed - What is PubMed? tutorialfrom the National Library of Medicine
- PubMed - Find Articles on a Topic tutorialtutorial from the National Library of Medicine
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this. - JoVE Unlimited This link opens in a new windowEncompasses all current and future JoVE video resources. JoVE publishes more than 1,200 videos annually across the 13 sections of the JoVE Video Journal and launches new subject series and collections to the JoVE Science Education Library several times a year. Access to both the fundamental building blocks of common laboratory techniques and the newest, cutting-edge experiments
Help & Assistance
HELP AND ASSISTANCE
LIVE CHAT with a Librarian.
Go to: lib.uiowa.edu/contact/chat/ and ask a question!
ONE-ON-ONE research consultations with a librarian!
Go to lib.uiowa.edu/research/consultations/
NEED HELP AFTER business hours?
The SEAM can help!
The SEAM evening research assistance to get research help and assistance. We're open Sunday - Thursday, 5PM-9PM. Visit us at the Just Ask Desk, 1st Floor in the Main Library.
Go to lib.uiowa.edu/seam/ to schedule an appointment online.
Other relevant resources
- AllSidesThe AllSides Media Bias Chart™ helps you to easily identify different perspectives so you can get the full picture and think for yourself. Knowing the political bias of media outlets allows you to consume a balanced news diet and avoid manipulation and fake news. Everyone is biased, but hidden bias misleads and divides us. The AllSides Media Bias Chart™ is based on our full and growing list of over 800 media bias ratings. These ratings inform our balanced newsfeed.
- Media Bias/Fact CheckFact checking resources that analyzes and rates media outlets based on several categories that include political leanings, bias, and credibility.
- Scientific AmericanScientific American covers the most important and exciting research, ideas and knowledge in science, health, technology, the environment and society. It is committed to sharing trustworthy knowledge, enhancing our understanding of the world, and advancing social justice.
- Nature NewsNews articles for the public highlighting the latest research and scientific studies published in Nature, the academic journal.