Journals and Magazines - Dance - Guides at University of Iowa

Dance Journals & Magazines

Dance Research Journal
Dance Research Journal is the longest running, peer reviewed journal in its field, and has become one of the foremost international outlets for dance research scholarship. The journal carries scholarly articles, book reviews, and a list of books and journals received.
Dance Research
Dance Research, the journal of the Society for Dance Research, is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. The journal covers dance worldwide both from a historical and contemporary perspective, engaging with current debates on dance and across cognate disciplines with dance at the centre of inquiry.
Dance Chronicle
Founded in 1977 by George Dorris and Jack Anderson, Dance Chronicle is one of only two journals covering the field of dance studies in the United States. The journal is international in scope and interdisciplinary in vision—as indicated by its subtitle Studies in Dance and the Related Arts—with a strength in historical research.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art
PAJ explores innovative work in theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music, bringing together all live arts in thoughtful cultural dialogue. Issues include critical essays, artists’ writings, interviews, plays, drawings, and notations, with extended coverage of performance, festivals, and books. Podcasts, video and audio clips appear on PAJ’s online home.
Dance Magazine
American trade publication for dance. Some materials available on website, others magazine only. https://www.dancemagazine.com/
American Journal of Dance Therapy
Reports the latest findings in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. The American Journal of Dance Therapy (AJDT) presents original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies by leading educators and practitioners in the field.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance
An official publication of the Society of Health and Physical Educators, JOPERD is a peer-reviewed, four-color, professional journal. Continuously published since 1896, JOPERD serves as an authoritative, professional source for educators in physical education, sport, recreation, and dance in all settings.

Databases for the Performing Arts

JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for more than 420 international music periodicals, plus full text for 83 journals.
http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/musicresearchtools/iimp
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Nearly 1,700 plays from Bloomsbury, including Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare, and Faber & Faber, plus production stills from the Victoria and Albert Museum and the American Shakespeare Center
Music Online This link opens in a new window
Most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web.Single cross-searchable platform that can potentially cross-search any combination of subscribed databases. When complete, Music Online will offer more than 400,000 audio tracks, 400,000 scores, 100,000 pages of music reference, and over 500 hours of video. Every object in the collection is indexed for subjects, historical events, genres, people, cultural groups, places, time periods, ensembles. As a result, students and scholars can combine keyword and fielded search capabilities to frame creative and highly targeted queries. Users can also select to view a single database by using the dropdown menu at the bottom of the homepage of Music Online.