About Audiology Resources
All of the E books listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog, Infohawk+
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Finding More Books and Journals
In order to find books and journal titles in the UI Libraries collection, you can use the Infohawk+ Catalog.
Audiology Journals
UI Libraries has current subscription in print or electronic format to all listed journals; list contains active journals only.
All journals listed are peer-reviewed, unless noted. Hover over titles for description and for detail on holdings. Select link to access full text or record.
e Communication Science
- e Communication ScienceA collection of about 30 e books, 50 case presentations, and a large collection of video clips and images.
Audiology E Books
Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation by
"Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation, Third Edition is an advanced textbook for doctoral level audiology students that focuses solely on adults with a completely international perspective. It is the only advanced text to meet the need for the high level of preparation required for doctoral level training. It is also an essential resource for practicing clinicians looking for a complete reference on the latest techniques and technologies. With ever changing technology and new methodologies in client care, the third edition of Adult Audiologic Rehabilitation is a critical resource to audiology education. The book covers definitions of audiologic rehabilitation, an overview of the area, psychosocial impact of hearing loss, assessment strategies, current technologies, treatment methodologies, e-technologies, research needs, and special issues in audiologic rehabilitation. It has been deliberately structured to move the reader from introduction, to specific details of the specialty of audiologic rehabilitation, to providing insights into characteristics of this patient population, and thence to a framework for assessment and treatment of the impact of hearing loss"--
ISBN: 9781635501438Publication Date: 2019
Audiology Treatment by
Contents: Introduction : on the treatment of hearing loss / Jason Galster -- Fundamentals of hearing aid acoustics and hardware / Andrew Johnson -- Standards for assessing hearing aid performance / David A. Preves -- Hearing aid coupling : theory and application / James R. Curran, Dennis van Vliet -- Hearing aid coupling : techniques and technologies / James R. Curran, Dennis van Vliet -- Audio signal processing for hearing aids / Ayasakanta Rout -- Fundamentals of real-ear measurement / John Pumford, David Smriga -- Techniques for probe microphone measurement / David Smriga, John Pumford -- Hearing aid prescriptive fitting methods / Erin M. Picou -- Outcome measures in the prescription of hearing aids for adults / Harvey B. Abrams -- Hearing aid selection and prescription for children / Ryan W. McCreery -- Cochlear implants in adults / Sarah A. Sydlowski -- Cochlear implants in children / Sarah A. Sydlowski -- Bone conduction hearing solutions / William Hodgetts -- Hearing assistive and related technology / Samuel R. Atcherson -- Hearing protection devices / Brian J. Fligor -- Tinnitus and sound sensitivity / Christopher Spankovich.
ISBN: 1626233292Publication Date: 2018
Patient and family-centered speech-language pathology and audiology by
Contents: Principles and outcomes of patient- and family-centered care / Carly Meyer, Nerina Scarinci, Caitlin Barr -- Getting ready to be a patient- and family-centered clinician / Caitlin Barr -- Getting the environment ready for patient- and family-centered care / Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer -- Planning a patient- and family-centered approach to service delivery / Carly Meyer, Nerina Scarinci -- Identifying patient and family member needs through assessment / Louise Hickson, Tanya Rose, Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer -- Meeting patient and family member needs through collaborative management planning / Louise Hickson -- Consideration of cultural and linguistic diversity in patient- and family-centered care / Nerina Scarinci, Carly Meyer, Leanne Sorbello.
Includes bibliographical references and index.
ISBN: 9781626239203Publication Date: 2019
Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management by Publication Date: 2019
Pediatric audiology casebook by
Leverages real-life cases to foster in-depth understanding of pediatric audiology Pediatric Audiology Casebook, Second Edition is fully updated with more than 60 new cases presented in four sections, covering all facets of the diagnosis and management of hearing disorders in children. Renowned experts Jane R. Madell, Carol Flexer and rising stars Jace Wolfe and Erin C. Schafer have compiled an impressive compendium of basic to complex diagnostic cases, covering the most salient topics in the field. The book effectively bridges the gap between content knowledge and clinical application, enabling readers to put acquired theory into active practice by engaging in problem-based learning. Key Features - All cases include key information for diagnosing and managing pediatric patients: clinical history, audiologic testing, evaluative reader questions, thought-provoking answers, definitive diagnosis, recommended treatment options, and final outcome - Expanded use of cochlear implants including implant performance issues - Overcoming challenges from family non-compliance and complicated mapping to professional collaboration and multidisciplinary assessments. Paired with the best-selling textbook Pediatric Audiology: Diagnosis, Technology, and Management, Third Edition, this robust classroom duo is an essential resource for instructors and students alike. Acquire in-depth knowledge from the textbook, apply it to practical case studies, and achieve deeper understanding of the full spectrum of pediatric audiology.
ISBN: 1626234043Publication Date: 2020
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation by
The best-selling textbook, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Adults, Children, and Their Families, Fifth Edition, introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing and communication-based disorders. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, and language and speech acquisition. New to the Fifth Edition: Reorganization of chapters from two to three sections, to streamline the presentation of the material Expanded presentation of research designs and principles of evidence-based practice State-of-the-science review of the most current research in auditory training and audiovisual speech perception Updated information and references to reflect emerging trends in speech and language therapy, along with practical examples of lessons Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features: Text is written by a nationally and internationally recognized expert in aural rehabilitation, who is an active researcher in the areas of auditory training, speechreading, and communication strategies, and who writes in an engaging and clear style Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Numerous case studies, sidebars, and text boxes Bolded key terms in text with definitions in margins, and a comprehensive end-of-book glossary
ISBN: 9781635500745Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Adult audiology casebook by
Adult Audiology Casebook, Second Edition by esteemed researchers and educators Michael Valente and L. Maureen Valente present all new cases, reflecting issues that have become more prevalent in clinical settings. An impressive array of international authors provide expert advice, best practices, and vital tools clinicians need to successfully manage patient expectations and achieve optimal outcomes. Seven sections encompass a wide range of hearing, vestibular, and balance disorders, other conditions that result in hearing loss, diagnostic exams for auditory and vestibular function, and treatments. Key Features 50 comprehensive cases covering all aspects of adult audiology include thought-provoking questions and answers followed by a summary of key points Full color audiograms provide a reader-friendly hearing loss evaluation tool Simple and complex treatment approaches including aural rehabilitation, sound therapy, auditory processing disorder therapy, hearing aids, cochlear implants, and hearing assistive technologies Discussion of a wide variety of diagnostic tools used for audiometric assessment Essential reading for graduate level audiology students, this casebook is a must have for sharpening and enhancing clinical skills. It also provides a robust classroom tool for audiology and speech-language pathology professors, as well as a practical daily reference for audiologists, otolaryngologists, and ENT residents
ISBN: 1626237301Publication Date: 2020
Preventive audiology: An African perspective by
This book is an original scholarly book that introduces the concept of preventive audiology, with a specific focus on the African context, which is in line with the South African re-engineered primary healthcare strategy as well as the World Health Organisation’s approach. The book reflects on contextually relevant and responsive evidence-based perspectives, grounded in an African context on preventive audiology, in four major ear and hearing burdens of disease within the South African context: (1) early hearing detection and intervention, (2) middle ear pathologies, (3) ototoxicity, and (4) noise-induced hearing loss. The book represents innovative research, seen from both a South African and global perspective. It offers new discourse and argues for a paradigm shift in how audiology is theorised and performed, particularly in low-and-middle-income country contexts. The goal of this book is to motivate a paradigm shift in how the ear and hearing care is approached within this low-and-middle-income country context while arguing for Afrocentric best practice evidence that leads to next practice.
ISBN: 9781776342457Publication Date: 2022
