Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Finding Articles and Evidence
All of the resources listed on this page are either freely available or are available through subscriptions (marked with lock icon). If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a resource to add, please contact the guide owner.
The databases listed on this page are excellent places to start a literature search. Please schedule a consultation iif you need help finding, organizing, or formatting references.
For most of the databases listed, look for the UI Link button in your results, and select it to view full text options.
Guide to Searching
A tool to help with structuring question into PICO format and with generating search terms
Searching Guide for Health Sciences
Contains suggestions on which resources to consult by question type, along with general principles to keep in mind when searching health sciences resources.
Point of Care Tools for Finding Evidence
ASHA Compendium of Guidelines and Systematic Reviews
Contains list of guidelines and systematic reviews from 2001 to present that have implications for clinical practice (speech or audiology). Can be browsed by keyword for topic or by resource type. A summary and brief appraisal of the relevant segment of each guideline or systematic review is provided. This work has been conducted by ASHA's National Center for Evidence-Based Practice in Communication Disorders (N-CEP).
This resource is not configured to work with Infolink; you may need to check search tools such as Smart Search or article locator to find full text of referenced articles.
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature: Includes over 3000 journals for nursing and 17 allied health disciplines. Primary coverage is peer-reviewed journals with studies and review articles; also includes dissertations, drug reports, conference proceedings. Includes nearly all SLP journals, not always comprehensive for dates of coverage. Includes most, but not all, audiology journals.
Huge database of biomedical citations; includes over 5000 peer-reviewed journals in all aspects of medicine and health sciences. Includes MEDLINE, which are the citations indexed with the Medical Subject Headings or MeSH. Includes many SLP and audiology journals.
Includes clinical psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics. Includes cognitive science journals not captured in other health sciences databases.
A freely available database for locating evidence by grade for speech and language interventions (produced by University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia).This resource is not configured to work with Infolink; you may need to check search tools such as Smart Search or article locator to find full text of referenced articles.
Defining Evidence Based Clinical Practice
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice (EBCP): Evidence-based practice is the judicious use of the best research evidence (found in health sciences literature), clinical expertise (what the health care provider knows) and patient values (what the patient wants and believes) to create a plan of action regarding patient care. Evidence-based practice is an umbrella term that covers evidence-based medicine, evidence-based dentistry, evidence-based public health, evidence-based nursing and etc.
Guides to Appraising Literature
Includes text of two books (Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice and The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis), education guides, glossary, calculators, worksheets, question wizards, weekly RSS feed of featured JAMA articles, compiled clinical scenarios, podcasts, and user-level customization features.
How to Read a Paper Series
How To Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Practice by
Publication Date: 2014-02-26
An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way.