"This newer adaptation of the site ["Writer's Guide to Government Information", Cornwall, 2017] organizes posts by how they contribute to creation of characters, settings, plots and themes."

"Street View stitches together billions of panoramic images to provide a virtual representation of our surroundings on Google Maps. Street View's content comes from two sources - Google and contributors. Through our collective efforts, we enable people everywhere to virtually explore the world."

The Library of Congress digital collection is much more than just books! The digital collections include digitized writings, images, sound recordings, maps, sheet music, and web archives that encompass historical events from the U.S. and the world. Digital artifacts can be searched, browsed, or filtered based on subject, format, or collection.

Browsable digital collections include over 880,000 manuscripts, prints, photos, posters, maps, and recordings. Early American writings, gay and lesbian history, and book art are just some of the collections that are available for research. Within the collection are digital items from specialized library branches, including the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, and the Science, Industry, and Business Library.

YouTube can be useful for capturing dialects, images, and experiences from the point of view of real people doing real things.

Article from The Writer on the role of research in narrative nonfiction.

Article from Creative Nonfiction discussion how those drawn to the writing of personal essays and memoirs may eventually discover the need to do some research.

Article by Jake Wolff on Lit Hub on how to write beyond the borders of your own experience.

Episode of the Dramatists Guild podcast The Dramatist presents TALKBACK. How do you tell an authentic story? In this episode we explore cultural research in playwriting.
Kia Corthron journeyed outside of her lived experience, both mentally and physically, when developing her play Tap The Leopard. Podcast host Christine Toy Johnson sits down with Kia, and Mashuq Mushtaq Deen, to discuss the complexities of cultural research

Article from the website of the Poetry Foundation discussing how research can be used in poetry with a suggested activity for incorporating research into one's poetry.

Interested in playwriting? Want to know how to create characters? What is your writing style? How do you get started? Leading playwrights explain key elements of a well-written play in this collection of short videos, offering practical advice and support. Featured in this collection are David Hare, James Graham, Alecky Blythe, Simon Stephens, Polly Stenham, Richard Bean and many more.

Writing-specific archive with tips and tricks, covering topics such as structure, writing for genre films, and realistic dialogue.

2020 video from the WGA about the research methods practiced by screenwriters Andrew Lanham (Just Mercy, The Kid) and Kevin Willmott (Da 5 Bloods, BlacKkKlansman). They shared how they gather information, how their research informs their screenplays, and how they approach writing stories about real people and events. Moderated by WGF librarian Lauren O’Connor.

Here, you can find information and sources to help you navigate the craft and business of screenwriting.