Nature, culture, place. Orion magazine invites readers into a community of caring for the planet. Through writing and art that explore the connections between nature and culture, Orion inspires new thinking about how humanity might live on Earth justly, sustainably, and joyously.

The complete archives of Orion magazine (1982-present) are available online. The archive can be searched by date, author, keyword/phrase, or additional criteria.

Pro Tip: When searching, make sure that Orion is the only publication checked in the Archive List or results will appear from other journals covered by the database.

The New Yorker delivers unparalleled reporting and commentary on politics and foreign affairs, business and technology, popular culture and the arts, along with humor, fiction, poetry, and, of course, cartoons.

The New Yorker's full text is available online from 1925-today to University of Iowa-affiliated users.

Pro Tip: A search feature (magnifying glass in upper right) allows the user to look for keywords within the issue or the entire archive. 

Launched in New York City in 1850, Harper's Magazine is a monthly magazine of literature, politics, culture, finance, and the arts.

Bibliographic records for Harper's Magazine from 1984-present, with full text available from January 1, 1992-May 1, 2007 can be found here. 

Pro Tip: If you find an article that the university doesn't have full text available for, request it through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery. 

First published in 1869, Nature is the world's leading multidisciplinary science journal. Nature features peer-reviewed research from a variety of academic disciplines, mainly in science and technology.

Nature and its complete archive can be found online for University of Iowa patrons. 

Pro Tip: If you only want to search within Nature, make sure to select "This journal" when searching. Otherwise, all of the journals affiliated with the Nature portfolio will be searched (fyi, there are a lot!).

Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives.

Scientific American articles about the environment are archived and accessible from 1845-present. This magazine is published under the Nature portfolio. 

Pro Tip: Not only are articles available, but so are special reports, videos, and podcasts on the environment and other scientific topics.

This weekly Sunday magazine features news on fashion, current events, politics, language, business, entertainment, and food, with occasional special issues on specific topics.

The New York Times Magazine is indexed from February 6, 1977 - present and full text coverage from January 6, 1985 - present here.

Pro Tip: University of Iowa students and staff can create an account here for enhanced access to The New York Times - digital edition, which includes The New York Times Magazine. You will need to log in at www.nytimes.com for access. More info on our access can be found here.