Library Resources
The Libraries have a lot of resources that can be helpful in your writing process. This page highlights some resources and how to utilize them as well as general web resources.
If you are having trouble locating or using a resource, contact your librarian.
BrowZine
BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines. You can access via the app or the web.
App Version
1. Download the app.
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.
Web Version
1. Click the BrowZine Web link.
2. "Access Provided By University of Iowa" should appear at top right.
3. Search for publications by topic or title.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.
Environmentally Focused Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowA freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
- E&E News This link opens in a new windowEnvironment & Energy Publishing (E&E) is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets. E&E's five daily online publications are considered "must-reads" by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBiological Abstracts encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More than 6,500 serials are monitored for inclusion.
Literary Databases
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowWith full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals (EBSCO Version) This link opens in a new windowContains information available on the journals and series that are covered in the MLA International Bibliography database. The Directory is a master list that aims to cover journals available to libraries or universities that publish articles on language, literature, folklore, or pedagogy with some frequency, as well as any series that includes books on those subjects, regardless of the frequency of publication. Over 5,800 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
General/Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each titles. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below
Note that this database comprises mostly back issues: for most titles the JSTOR database does NOT include full text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
Other Web Resources
- Edge Effects (UW-Madison)Edge Effects is a digital magazine produced by graduate students at the Center for Culture, History, and Environment (CHE), which is part of the University of Wisconsin–Madison’s Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies.
- AntennaeThe Journal of Nature in Visual Culture
- EcoLit BooksFounded in 2012, we are a community passionate about books with environmental and animal themes.
- Laboratory for Environmental Narrative Strategies (UCLA)The Laboratory for Environmental Narrative Strategies (LENS) is an incubator for new research and collaboration on storytelling, communications, and media in the service of environmental conservation and equity. We are a diverse network of faculty and students from across disciplines who explore how today’s environmental challenges connect to longer histories of imagining the natural world.
- Association for the Study of Literature and EnvironmentASLE seeks to inspire and promote intellectual work in the environmental humanities and arts. Our vision is an inclusive community whose members are committed to environmental research, education, literature, art and service, environmental justice, and ecological sustainability.