Contact Librarian
104SL
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-3083
Introduction
SciFinder is restricted to current UI faculty, students, and staff. SciFinder is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, Medline and other resources. Within it, you can search articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations, by substance name or formula, structure, reaction, research topic and author.
Registration is required before the first use. Once registered for SciFinder, your username and password will work for either one.
SciFinder Registration
If this is your first time using SciFinder, you must register for an account.
To register you must use your University of Iowa email address (@uiowa.edu). After you submit your registration form, CAS will send you an e-mail with instructions for completing the registration process. This email should arrive within 30 minutes, if not, check your spam folder. If you have followed the instructions above, but you're having problems registering, please contact help@cas.org or 800-753-4227.
TIPS:
- Username must be 5-15 characters and can only have letters, numbers, -, _ , ., or @
- Password must be 7-15 characters and have three of the following: letters, mixed upper and lower case letters, numbers, non-alphanumeric characters like @,%,#, etc.
Access
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowNB: All users MUST register using an Iowa email account to use this resource. Detailed instructions are located at https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/SciFinder. SciFinder gives you instant access to the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research produced by CAS.
SciFinder Tutorials
New Tools in SciFinder-n
- PatentPakQuickly locate relevant information within patents.
- MethodsNowLocate and compare methodology.
- Retrosynthesis PlanSee SciFinder-n’s suggested route for preparing a compound from commercially available precursors.
SciFinder Data Sources
SciFinder-n and SciFinder retrieve content from many files:
-
CHEMCATS (Catalogs)Identifies chemical suppliers.
-
CHEMLIST (Regulatory lists)CHEMLIST shares what regulatory lists a chemical is on. It is also a good source of names for chemicals in a variety of languages.
-
MARPAT (Substances in patents)MARPAT searches markush structures - or structures that are general and vague and represent a collection of substances - that are often found in patents.
-
CIN - Chemistry Industry NotesCIN contributes titles, abstracts and indexing including Registry Numbers, from trade publications including government documents, trade magazines and newsletters.
-
ChemZentAbstracts for articles from 1830 from Chemisches Zentralblatt translated into English
- CAPlus File (Chemical Abstracts)Updated daily, the CAPlus file contains titles, abstracts and indexing for journal articles, patents, dissertations and much more.
- CAS ReactionsUpdated daily, CAS Reactions contains millions of single- and multi-step reactions including many synthetic preparations.
- CAS Registry FAQThe CAS Registry file contains over 155 million unique chemical substances and more that 68 million sequences. You can find names and synonyms, property and spectral data, preparation methods, and commerical availability with a link to articles or patents in other files that contain it.
- Content at a glanceAn overview of SciFinder-n