Skip to main content

Guides

HIST:2151:0001 It's Not Just Food (Introduction to the History Major): Home

Event

Loving Bananas, Spam and Jell-O: a talk with Christina Ward

  • October 5, 2019, 2:30pm-4:30pm 

Here in the Midwest, we are all too familiar with the phrase “Jell-O salad.” While we may laugh at some of these wobbly concoctions, how many of us can say that we’ve thought about where these recipes originated?

Join the University of Iowa Libraries and the Iowa City Book Festival in welcoming Christina Ward, author of "American Advertising Cookbooks: How Corporations Taught Us to Love Bananas, Spam, and Jell-O," as she explores the messy history behind some of our most popular foods. This talk will start Saturday, October 5th at 2:30PM in Shambaugh Auditorium on the first floor of the Main Library. Following the talk, local Iowa City group Historic Foodies will be serving up some of these infamous recipes, and Special Collections will be showcasing several great pieces from the beloved Szathmary Culinary Collection, leaving you with plenty of food for thought, but hungry for more.

Select Websites

Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts and Cookbooks

PBS Video Collection

PBS Video Collection

This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including FrontlineNOVAAmerican ExperienceOdyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.

Janalyn Moss

Janalyn Moss's picture
Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319/335-5698

Patents