Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acropolis at Athens, view from the south-west; Photo credit: Vann/Art Resource, NY
Loeb Classical Library
A fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL Online)
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts. A total of approximately 13 million word forms are thus accessible electronically.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Full-text database of literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of the Byzantium in AD 1453. Users may search on author, title, publication or text string.
Users must register and/or log in to the TLG site for access.
Secondary Sources: Classical Studies
Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is a vast and rapidly-expanding library, providing easy access to thousands of books across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Spanning subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law, OSO is an essential research resource for student, scholar, and academic alike, no matter what your subject specialty.
Related & General Collections
ACLS Humanities E-Book
A collection of over 1,700 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. These are works of major importance, from 250 publishers, that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
EEBO: Early English Books Online
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare this collection contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and Thomason Tracts and their revised edition.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of over 180,000 titles of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. Subject categories include history and geography; fine arts and social sciences; medicine, science, and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; general reference. Also included are significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.