Lesson - Finding Books (and more) in InfoHawk+
What can InfoHawk+ help me find?
InfoHawk+ searches our physical materials (books, DVDs, etc.). It's the tool you need to use to find a book on the shelf, or an e-book online. Books are only part of what it can find.
It will also search a wide range of electronic resources, including Iowa Research Online, selected major databases in a diverse set of academic disciplines, and items unique to the UI Libraries like those in our Iowa Digital Collections.
InfoHawk+ Tutorials
Your friendly University of Iowa Librarians created these tutorials to help you learn how to use InfoHawk+ like a pro. If you have any questions, please ask a librarian.
-
InfoHawk+: BooksBasic techniques to perform a search and use filters to focus your results effectively.
-
InfoHawk+: ArticlesUsing InfoHawk+ to find articles.
-
My Library Account
Customize your InfoHawk+ account. Save searches, create lists, and more.
InfoHawk+ Books
View in Panopto (upper-right pointing arrow) for full-screen.
Add this link to ICON or other webpages:
Oxford
- Oxford Handbooks : Classical Studies This link opens in a new windowOHO Classical Studies brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in classics. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowMulti-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. Online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia – Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new windowContains over 6,200 entries. The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. The Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. The approach is interdisciplinary: all areas, regions, and cultures are represented beyond the core areas of Greece and Rome. As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, and ecology. The text is written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion.
Examples of Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH)
Featured Service
Do you need a book that the University of Iowa Libraries does not have? Search and request it with UBorrow. With over 90 million volumes, UBorrow combines the holdings of 13 major research Libraries.
- Receive books faster than with recalls or interlibrary loan.
- Keep books longer than with interlibrary loan.
- Books will not be recalled except under unusual circumstances.
Still cannot find what you need? Interlibrary Loan is there to help.