Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Allergic Diseases by In this updated third edition, expert physicians assemble user-friendly, clinically-oriented guides to aid in the day-to-day management of the allergic patient. With an emphasis on common allergic diseases and the pharmacological tools to control them, this book disseminates the practical knowledge that practitioners have accumulated through practice and teaching. Three new chapters focus on antihistamines, antileukotrienes, and children experiencing recurrent respiratory tract infections. This book is intended for the front-line physician who cares for allergic patients. It will help any physician improve the care offered to those patients.
Publication Date: 2007-12-06
Allergy in Practice by Allergy is one of the major health problems of most modern societies. Although allergic diseases are well-known for almost two hundred years, their prevalence has increased dramatically over the last decades. Allergic reactions manifest in various organs, most commonly in the skin and mucous membranes, the frontier surfaces where the contact between the individual and the environment takes place. In a very concise and practical way this book covers all aspects of allergic reactions from pathophysiology to diagnosis, therapy and prevention with a strong focus on relevant aspects for the everyday work of the practising dermatologist and allergist in the hospital or office. This book reflects the rich personal experience of a German allergist with international training and reputation, who is active in immunology and allergy research and practice for almost 30 years. In this book, not only IgE-mediated allergic reactions are covered but all other kinds of allergies such as atopic eczema, contact dermatitis, drug eruptions, anaphylaxis and food allergies are equally represented as well as psychosomatic aspects and problems of environmental intolerances.
Publication Date: 2006-01-16
Janeway's Immunobiology by Janeway's Immunobiologyis a textbook that introduces the immune system in all its aspects to undergraduates, and also provides a treatment of the subject that is comprehensive enough to be useful to graduate students interested in research, and to medical students focused on clinical applications. The Eighth Edition has been thoroughly revised and updated and is available in both print and e-book formats. Janeway's Immunobiologycontinues to set the standard for currency and authority with its clear writing style and organization, uniform art program, and scientific accuracy. It presents a consistent point of view throughout--that of the host's interaction with an environment containing many species of potentially harmful microorganisms. The full-color art program is conceptually coherent and illustrates the processes and mechanisms underlying the concepts in the text. The 16 chapters in this readable, accessible textbook are organized and presented in such a way as to help deliver a complete one-semester immunology course, beginning with innate immunity, then moving to adaptive immunity, and ending with applied clinical immunology. Discussion questions are provided at the end of Chapters 2 to 16. These questions can be used for review, or as the basis for discussion in class or in informal study groups. Summaries conclude each section and each chapter. As in previous editions, a caduceus icon in the margins indicates topics which are correlated to Case Studies in Immunology, Sixth Edition by Geha and Notarangelo. New in the Eighth Edition Innate immunityhas been updated and expanded and is now presented in two separate chapters (Chapters 2 and 3), as well as being further emphasized in the rest of the textbook. Chapter 2 covers antimicrobial peptides and the complement system, and Chapter 3 deals with cellular innate receptors and cell-mediated innate immunity (e.g. TLRs, phagocytosis, NK cells, interferon production, innate-like lymphocytes). The section on complementhas been reworked and reconceived--explaining the lectin pathway first--making it easier to teach by placing it into the context of innate recognition. Evolutionis now incorporated throughout the text, helping students see similar strategies used by different organisms. The text and figures of Chapter 7 Signaling Through Immune System Receptorshave been revised to present a cohesive synthesis of signalingfor immunology, focusing on improved illustration of antigen recognition signaling and lymphocyte activation. Signaling through other receptors is dealt with wherever appropriate throughout the book. Updated chapter on B-cell immune responses(Chapter 10), especially on trafficking of B cells in peripheral lymphoid organs (e.g. lymph nodes) and the locations at which they encounter antigen. Coverage of mucosal immunity(Chapter 12) has been brought up to date, including responses to the commensal microbiota and the role of specialized dendritic cells and the regulatory T cells in maintaining tolerance to food antigens and commensal bacteria. Chapter 13, Failures of Host Defense Mechanisms, has been reorganized and revised to structure an understanding of primary immunodeficiencies in the context of developmental pathways. Chapter 16, Manipulation of the Immune Response, has been heavily revised to include a greater emphasis on clinical issues and a complete update of immunotherapeutics and vaccines. Many new and revised figuresillustrate the processes and mechanisms underlying the concepts presented in the text. The iconsused have been updated and expanded to incorporate a new emphasis on signaling pathways. New referenceshave been added throughout the text.
Call Number: Hardin Library for Health Sciences Permanent Reserve (QR181 .I396 2012 )
Publication Date: 2011-07-25
Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice by Boasting a worldwide reputation as the leading text in allergy and immunology, Middleton's Allergy continues its steadfast tradition of providing comprehensive coverage of state-of-the-art basic science, as well as authoritative guidance on the clinical concepts of day-to-day diagnosis and management of allergic disorders. Offering timely information that's suited for clinicians and researchers alike, Middleton's is a user-friendly and versatile source for the knowledge you need to provide optimal care to your patients! "A valuable source of reference and pre-sifted information ...the editors are to be commending in keeping the book up-to-date and clinically valuable." Reviewed by: Imnunology News, March 2015 Stay on top of continuous new developments in clinical allergy and immunology through online access to the Expert Consult site, which will feature regular updates as well as the fully searchable contents. Find all of the information you need quickly and easily with a glossary of allergy and immunology terms; highlighted key points for each chapter; hundreds of crystal-clear images with a full-color format, and access to relevant websites. Apply the latest scientific knowledge and clinical applications with new chapters on Innate and Adaptive Immunity, Immune Tolerance, Immunobiology of IgE and Its Receptors, Resolution of Allergic Inflammation, and Particulate and Allergen Interactions, plus sweeping updates throughout. Take full advantage of the major advances in asthma pathogenesis and management with significant updates on diagnosis, treatment, and special aspects of asthma. Obtain the best results from the newest therapeutics for allergic and immunologic diseases through an expanded discussion of immunotherapy that includes new chapters on Sublingual Immunotherapy, Biologics and Immunosuppressives in Asthma, and Alternative and Complementary Therapies.
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Pediatric Allergy, Asthma and Immunology by Easy to understand and easy to use, this essential book reflects the rapid progress in one of the most intriguing fields of medicine. It offers state-of-the-art information on basic immunology, fetal-neonatal immunology, and many more fascinating areas.
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
Patch Testing and Prick Testing by Knowledge in the field of allergic contact dermatitis continues to expand rapidly owing to progress in the chemical, immunological, and clinical fields, including improved techniques of patch testing and prick testing. The third edition of this important book, which includes additional color illustrations, has been extensively revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the most recent developments. These include advances in patch testing methodology, in particular the new chambers that are appearing on the market, revision of the baseline series of patch tests to reflect the latest evidence-based work, and additional testing procedures. The result is a superb guide to the current management of positive and negative patch test and prick test reactions that will be invaluable for all practicing dermatologists, from the beginner to the well-trained expert.
Publication Date: 2012-02-27
Cellular and Molecular Immunology by The top required and recommended immunology text worldwide, Cellular and Molecular Immunology by Drs. Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H. H. Lichtman, and Shiv Pillai, is a clear, well-written, and superbly illustrated introduction to the field. The 9th Edition retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. Features updates from cover to cover, including tumor immunity (tumor antigens, cancer immunotherapy), immune checkpoints, cytosolic sensors for DNA, non-canonical inflammasomes, prionization as a signaling mechanism, monogenic defects in immunity, and more.
Publication Date: 2017-05-11
Infectious Diseases Textbooks
Infectious Diseases by Drs. Cohen, Powderly and Opal, three of the most-respected names in infectious disease medicine, lead a diverse team of international contributors to bring you the latest knowledge and best practices. Extensively updated, the fourth edition includes brand-new information on advances in diagnosis of infection; Hepatitis C; managing resistant bacterial infections; and many other timely topics. An abundance of photographs and illustrations; a practical, clinically-focused style; highly-templated organization; and robust interactive content combine to make this clinician-friendly resource the fastest and best place to find all of the authoritative, current information you need. Hundreds of full-color photographs and figures provide unparalleled visual guidance. Consistent chapter organization and colorful page layouts make for quick searches. Clinically-focused guidance from "Practice Points" demonstrates how to diagnose and treat complicated problems encountered in practice. The "Syndromes by Body System", "HIV and AIDS", and "International Medicine" sections are designed to reflect how practicing specialists think when faced with a patient. Over 100 Self-Assessment test questions online help study for certification and recertification. Sweeping updates include new or revised chapters on: Hepatitis C and antivirals Fungal infection and newer antifungals Microbiome and infectious diseases as well as advances in diagnosis of infection; Clostridium difficile epidemiology; infection control in the ICU setting; Chlamydia trachomatis infection; acquired syndromes associated with autoantibodies to cytokines;; management of multidrug resistant pathogens; probiotics, polymyxins, and the pathway to developing new antibiotics HIV including HIV and aging, antiretroviral therapy in developing countries, and cure for HIV. Online Antimicrobial pharmacokinetics mannequin, as well an all new HIV medicine mannequin are a useful visual source of treatment information Advance clinically with practical, innovative, highly visual guidance that allows you to effectively treat and manage all your patients' diseases.
Publication Date: 2016-07-21
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by The landmark guide to internal medicine-- updated and streamlined for today's students and clinicians The only place you can get ALL the great content found in the two print volumes AND the acclaimed DVD in one convenient resource Through six decades, no resource has matched the authority, esteemed scholarship, and scientific rigor of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Capturing the countless advances and developments across the full span of medicine, the new 19th edition of Harrison's provides a complete update of essential content related to disease pathogenesis, clinical trials, current diagnostic methods and imaging approaches, evidence-based practice guidelines, and established and newly approved treatment methods. Here are just a few of the outstanding features of the new Nineteenth Edition: Content is practically organized around two basic themes: education and clinical practice The teaching and learning sections cover foundational principles, cardinal manifestations of disease and approach to differential diagnosis; the content devoted to clinical practice focuses on disease pathogenesis and treatment NEW chapters on important topics such as Men's Health, The Impact of Global Warming on Infectious Diseases, Fatigue, and many more Critical updates in management and therapeutics in Hepatitis, Coronary Artery Disease, Ebola Virus Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Diabetes, Hypertension, Deep Vein Thrombosis and Pulmonary Embolism, Acute and Chronic Kidney Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Lipoprotein Disorders, HIV and AIDS, and more. Increased number of the popular Harrison's clinical algorithms; clinically relevant radiographic examples spanning hundreds of diseases; clinical-pathological images in full color; crystal clear, full color drawings and illustrations and helpful tables and summary lists that make clinical application of the content faster than ever Outstanding multi-media resources including practical videos demonstrating essential bedside procedures, physical examination techniques, endoscopic findings, cardiovascular findings, are available for easy download Supporting the renowned coverage are supplemental resources that reflect and assist modern medical practice: more than 1,000 full-color photographs to aid visual recognition skills, hundreds of state-of-the-art radiographs, from plain film to 3D CT to PET Scans; beautiful illustrations that bring applied anatomy and processes to life; the renowned Harrison's patient-care algorithms, essential summary tables, and practical demonstrative videos. In addition, several digital atlases highlight noninvasive imaging, percutaneous revascularization, gastrointestinal endoscopy, diagnosis and management of vasculitis, and numerous other issues commonly encountered in clinical practice. Acclaim for Harrison's "Covering nearly every possible topic in the field of medicine, the book begins with a phenomenal overview of clinical medicine, discussing important topics such as global medicine, decision-making in clinical practice, the concepts of disease screening and prevention, as well as the importance of medical disorders in specific groups (e.g. women, surgical patients, end of life). The extensive chapters that follow focus on a symptom-based presentation of disease and then illness organized by organ system. Numerous tables, graphs, and figures add further clarity to the text." ...Written by experts in the field, this book is updated with the latest advances in pathophysiology and treatment. It is organized in a way that makes reading from beginning to end a logical journey, yet each chapter can stand alone as a quick reference on a particular topic. " Doody's Review Service reviewing the previous edition of Harrison's
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Medical Epidemiology: Population Health and Effective Health Care by Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by After more than 75 years, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics remains your indispensable source for definitive, state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Embracing the new advances in science as well as the time-honored art of pediatric practice, this classic reference provides the essential information that practitioners and other care providers involved in pediatric health care throughout the world need to understand to effectively address the enormous range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems that our children and youth may face. Brand-new chapters and comprehensive revisions throughout ensure that you have the most recent information on diagnosis and treatment of pediatric diseases based on the latest recommendations and methodologies. "The coverage of such a wide range of subjects relating to child health makes this textbook still the gold standard and companion for all pediatricians across the world." Reviewed by Neel Kamal, Sept 2015 "All in all, this is an excellent and detailed paediatric review textbook which represents excellent value for money..truly a textbook for the global community" Reviewed by glycosmedia.com, Sept 2015 Form a definitive diagnosis and create the best treatment plans possible using evidence-based medicine and astute clinical experiences from leading international authors-many new to this edition. A NEW two-volume layout provides superior portability and exceptional ease of use. Gain a more complete perspective. Along with a broader emphasis on imaging and molecular diagnoses and updated references, the new edition includes an increased focus on international issues to ensure relevance in pediatrics practice throughout the world. Effectively apply the latest techniques and approaches with complete updates throughout 35 new chapters, including: Innovations in Addressing Child Health and Survival in Low Income Settings; Developmental Domains and Theories of Cognition; The Reggio Emilia Educational Approach Catatonia ; Refeeding Syndrome; Altitude-associated Illness; Genetic Approaches to Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases; Healthcare-Associated Infections; Intrapartum and Peripartum Infections; Bath salts and other drugs of abuse; Small Fiber Polyneuropathy; Microbiome; Kingella kingae; Mitochondrial Neurogastrointestinal Encephalomyopathy; Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease; Plagiocephaly; CNS Vasculitis; Anterior Cruciate Ligament Rupture; and Sports-Related Traumatic Brain Injury. Recognize, diagnose, and manage genetic and acquired conditions more effectively. A new Rehabilitation section with 10 new chapters, including: Evaluation of the Child for Rehabilitative Services; Severe Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury and Autonomic Crisis Management; Spasticity; Birth Brachial Plexus Palsy; Traumatic and Sports-Related Injuries; Meningomyeloce≤ Health and Wellness for Children with Disabilities. Manage the transition to adult healthcare for children with chronic diseases through discussions of the overall health needs of patients with congenital heart defects, diabetes, and cystic fibrosis. Understand the principles of therapy and which drugs and dosages to prescribe for every disease. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2015-04-22
Red Book 2015 by 2015 Red Book is the American Academy of Pediatrics' authoritative guide to manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis, and treatment of more than 200 childhood conditions. It provides evidence-based guidance to practicing clinicians on pediatric infections and vaccinations based on the recommendations of the committee as well as the combined expertise of the CDC, the FDA and hundreds of physician contributors. The Red Book is an essential reference for pediatric infectious diseases specialists and general pediatricians, and is useful for family medicine and emergency medicine physicians as well. Public health and school health providers, medical residents and students also will find it a high-yield source of pediatric infectious disease and vaccine information. The book is divided into sections that cover Active and passive immunization Disease summaries Antimicrobial therapy for treatment and prophylaxis Care of children in special situations Updated information and recommendations you cannot afford to be without... Standardized approach to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection control practices New chapter on Hemorrhagic Fevers Caused by Filoviruses has been added New chapter on human parechovirus infections has been added Updated information on hypersensitivity reactions after immunizations The latest on sexually transmitted infections (STIs) in adolescents and children Updated coverage of actinomycosis, amebiases, arbovirus, bacterial vaginosis, blastocystis, candidiasis, Clostridium difficle, coronaviruses, dengue, enteroviruses, Escherichia coli, Giardia intestinalis, gonococcal infections, Helicobacter pylori infections, lyme disease, meningococcal infections, pediculosis capitis, pertussis, pneumococcal infections, rotavirus, and more Managing Injection Pain has been significantly expanded Updated information on hepatitis C Updated information on group B streptococcal infections Updated section on drugs for parasitic infections Significantly revised chapter on Respiratory Syncytial Virus Recommendations for using MMR or MMRV vaccines have been updated The Antimicrobial Resistance and Antimicrobial Stewardship chapter has been significantly broaded and updated Updated information on HIV And much more!
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Dependable, current, and complete, Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 9th Edition is the perennially best-selling text that you'll use long after your medical student days are behind you. A world-class author team headed by Drs. Vinay Kumar, Abul Abbas, and Jon Aster, delivers the latest, most essential pathology knowledge in a readable, interesting manner, ensuring optimal understanding of the latest basic science and clinical content. High-quality photographs and full-color illustrations highlight new information in molecular biology, disease classifications, new drugs and drug therapies, and much more. Rely on uniquely authoritative and readable coverage, ideal for USMLE or specialty board preparation, as well as for course work. Simplify your study with an outstanding full-color, highly user-friendly design. Stay up to date with the latest information in molecular and genetic testing and mechanisms of disease. Consult new Targeted Therapy boxes online that discuss drug therapy for specific diseases. Gain a new perspective in key areas thanks to contributions from new authors at the top of their fields. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. Further your understanding with access to a wealth of interactive ancillaries on the Student Consult site, including pathology case studies and videos and self-assessment questions.
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Biomedical Sciences Librarian
Have General Library Questions?