Drug Info - Microbiology & Immunology - Guides at University of Iowa

Hardin Library Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..

Hardin Library Guide to Core Bio Databases
more...less...
This links to a the Hardin LibGuide on general bioscience resources.
NIH Institutes, Offices & Centers
more...less...
This sites lists all of the major offices within the National Institute for Health.
UIHC Division of Allergy and Immunology
more...less...
The department of Immunology home page for the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download PDFs.
This resource is not compatible with Internet Explorer.
If using Internet Explorer, add ClinicalKey to trusted sites.

Drugs@FDA
Search for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs.
Epocrates
Provides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. This is a free resource but registration is required to access some features. Other features require an individual subscription. Mobile version (Epocrates Rx) is available. Students can contact Epocrates at 1-800-230-2150 for information on discounts for individual subscriptions.
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacologic Basis of Therapeutics
Bertram G. Katzung

more...
Meyler’s Side Effects of Drugs
The international encyclopedia of adverse drug reactions and interactions.

Micromedex
Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindale, PDR, Material Safety Data Sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index Nominum.

National Library of Medicine Drug Information Portal
Use this gateway for selected drug information on over 15,000 drugs from U.S. Government agencies spanning the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Joseph T. DiPiro, Robert L. Talbert, et al.
Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR) (Via Micromedex)
PDR is included within the drug information in Micromedex. No direct link is available. Print copies are also available at the Reserve Section in Hardin Library.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database (DLSD)
From the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
Natural Products Database
The natural product content is adapted from The Review of Natural Products, a Facts & Comparisons online database. Each monograph includes a Clinical Overview section and then additional in-depth fields that provide a detailed discussion of the use, dosing, adverse reactions, and interactions of each herbal product.

Micromedex
Micromedex has a component called AltMedDex. After conducting a search using a natural product name, slect the AltMedDex monograph.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
NCCAM is produced by NIH and provides information on a wide range of alternative therapies, including herbal products.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Databases
Available at Hardin Library. Call number RM258.5 .N38

Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
Previously Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS), this database is now a subset of PubMed. It is essentially a "limit" on the PubMed database that allows users to limit the 20 million+ citations in PubMed to those that are dietary supplement-related (just over 400,000 at this time).