UI Libraries strives to provide the same level of service to UI students both on and away from campus. Use these methods to access books, journal articles and other library resources away from Iowa City.

Distance Education Librarian Dan Gall is normally available during Central Time business hours and will respond as soon as possible to any messages.

Books, journals, articles and more might be published in print or may be published in electronic format and licensed in a variety of ways through the UI Libraries. Fortunately, you have access to material regardless of format and regardless of how, or even whether, the UI Libraries has access to it. 

• You may find an article, book chapter or other information available electronically through InfoHawk+, though a research database or even online through Google Scholar or a similar source. If not...
• Use the UIlink button in any University of Iowa database to check for online availability in another source.
• If the article is not available online, the Infolink button in the database you search will give you an option to request the article through the Article Delivery Service.
• In most cases, we will scan articles and notify you by email when they are available in the system. In some cases, we will need to get a physical copy of the material you request.

• Use the Sign in to View Request Options link in the record for any book you want from our InfoHawk+ catalog system.
• The Request PDF of Book Chapter will let you ask for a specific chapter or set of pages. Library staff will scan what you want from the print book and deliver it to you online as a pdf file.
• To request the entire physical book, use the Request Physical Item link and choose Home Delivery. Only one line is available to enter the shipping address - please separate parts of the address with commas.

Through the UI Libraries' Interlibrary Loan department, you have access to research, information and publications even if they are not part of the UI Libraries' collections. You can request books, articles and other information by manually filling out the ILL request form, but using ILL through the UILink system in our catalog and research databases is usually more convenient.

• While we can often get books for you from other libraries within days, we do not control how quickly libraries respond or how widely available your book is. It may take some time to get the book you want. 
• Chapters of books, individual articles and other material is often scanned and delivered electronically, saving time. Copyright & licensing, length and format of the original material all affect whether something can be delivered electronically.
• The UILink system, integrated into all research databases available through the UI Libraries, finds all sources of online articles whether or not the database you searched has full-text access. If the thing you want is not available online, UILink includes a link to request it through UI Interlibrary Loan.
• Register with Interlibrary Loan so we will know your how to get your requests to you whether physically or online.

Pro Tip: Start your research through the UI Libraries website so you will haves access to UILink. We've even integrated UILink into Google Scholar if you get to it through the UI Libraries.