A Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using SAS by Geoff Der; Brian S. Everitt; Brian Everitt Updated to reflect SAS 9.2, A Handbook of Statistical Analyses using SAS, Third Edition continues to provide a straightforward description of how to conduct various statistical analyses using SAS. Each chapter shows how to use SAS for a particular type of analysis. The authors cover inference, analysis of variance, regression, generalized linear models, longitudinal data, survival analysis, principal components analysis, factor analysis, cluster analysis, discriminant function analysis, and correspondence analysis. They demonstrate the analyses through real-world examples, including methadone maintenance treatment, the relation of cirrhosis deaths to alcohol consumption, a sociological study of children, heart transplant treatment, and crime rate determinants. With the data sets and SAS code available online, this book remains the go-to resource for learning how to use SAS for many kinds of statistical analysis. It serves as a stepping stone to the wider resources available to SAS users.

The Little SAS Book by Lora Delwiche; Susan Slaughter A classic that just keeps getting better, The Little SAS Book is essential for anyone learning SAS programming. Lora Delwiche and Susan Slaughter offer a user-friendly approach so readers can quickly and easily learn the most commonly used features of the SAS language. Each topic is presented in a self-contained, two-page layout complete with examples and graphics. The fifth edition has been completely updated to reflect the new default output introduced with SAS 9.3. In addition, there is a now a full chapter devoted to ODS Graphics including the SGPLOT and SGPANEL procedures. Other changes include expanded coverage of linguistic sorting and a new section on concatenating macro variables with other text. This title belongs on every SAS programmer’s bookshelf. It’s a resource not just to get you started, but one you’ll return to as you continue to improve your programming skills.

The Little SAS Book for Enterprise Guide 3. 0 by Lora D. Delwiche; Slaughter J. Susan Learning to use SAS Enterprise Guide has never been easier! With The Little SAS Book for Enterprise Guide 3.0, Susan Slaughter and Lora Delwiche help you quickly become familiar with the SAS Enterprise Guide point-and-click environment. A series of carefully designed tutorials help you master the basics of the tasks you'll want to do most frequently. The reference section of the book expands on the tutorial topics, focusing on specific features. If you are new to SAS or new to SAS Enterprise Guide, this book will be an invaluable tool on your way to becoming an expert. Book jacket.

Statistical Programming in SAS by A. John Bailer In "Statistical Programming in SAS," author A. John Bailer integrates SAS tools with interesting statistical applications and uses SAS 9.2 as a platform to introduce programming ideas for statistical analysis, data management, and data display and simulation. Written using a reader-friendly and narrative style, the book includes extensive examples and case studies to present a well-structured introduction to programming issues. This book has two parts. The first part addresses the nuts and bolts, including fostering good programming habits, getting external data sets into SAS to construct an analysis data set, generating basic descriptive statistical summaries, producing customized tables, generating more attractive output, and producing high-quality graphical displays. The second part emphasizes programming in the context of a DATA step, in macros, and in SAS/IML software. Examples of statistical methods and concepts not always encountered in basic statistics courses (for example, bootstrapping, randomization tests, and jittering) are used to illustrate programming ideas. This book provides extensive illustrations of the new statistical graphics procedures in SAS, a description of the new ODS Graphics Editor, and an introduction to some of the capabilities of SAS/IML Studio, such as producing dynamically linked data displays and invoking R from SAS.

Applied Statistics and the SAS Programming Language by Ronald P. Cody; Jeffrey K. Smith As the SAS© programming language continues to evolve, this guide follows suit with timely coverage of the combination statistical package, database management system, and high-level programming language. Using current examples from business, medicine, education, and psychology, Applied Statistics and the SAS Programming Language is an invaluable resource for applied researchers, giving them the capacity to perform statistical analyses with SAS without wading through pages of technical documentation. Includes the necessary SAS statements to run programs for most of the commonly used statistics, explanations of the computer output, interpretations of results, and examples of how to construct tables and write up results for reports and journal articles. Illustrated with SAS Graph(tm) output. Provides readers with ample models for developing programming skills. For anyone interested in learning  more about applied statistics and the SAS programming language.

SAS Certification Prep Guide by SAS Institute (Created by) New and experienced SAS users who want to prepare for the Base Programming for SAS 9 exam will find the SAS Certification Prep Guide: Base Programming for SAS 9 to be an invaluable, convenient, and comprehensive resource that covers all of the objectives tested on the exam. Major topics include importing and exporting raw data files, creating and modifying SAS data sets, and identifying and correcting data syntax and programming logic errors. You will also become familiar with the enhancements and new functionality that are available in SAS 9. Each chapter includes a quiz on the chapter's contents. This guide provides you with a solid study resource as well as a go-to reference for your library. We also have the first edition.

PROC SQL by Example by Howard Schreier In PROC SQL by Example: Using SQL within SAS, author Howard Schreier illustrates the use of PROC SQL in the context of the SAS DATA step and other SAS procedures (such as SORT, FREQ, MEANS, SUMMARY, APPEND, DATASETS, and TRANSPOSE) whose functionality overlaps and complements that of SQL. Using a side-by-side approach, this concise reference guide includes many extensively explained examples showing equivalent DATA step and SQL code, enabling SAS users to take advantage of existing SAS skills and knowledge while learning about SQL. Discussions cover the differences between SQL and the DATA step as well as situations where SQL and the DATA step are used together to benefit from the strengths of each. Topics addressed include working with joins and merges; using subqueries; understanding set operators; using the Macro Facility with PROC SQL; maintaining tables; working with views; using PROC SQL as a report generator; and more. This text is ideal for SAS programmers seeking to add PROC SQL to their SAS toolkits as well as SQL programmers striving to better integrate the SAS DATA step and SQL.

Proc SQL by Kirk Paul Lafler Master the language of PROC SQL Get faster and better results when you use the SQL procedure with this step-by-step, example-driven guide in your hands. You will find information about implementing both American National Standards Institute (ANSI) guidelines and non-ANSI features. A broad range of SAS users including applications programmers, database designers and administrators, statisticians, and systems analysts will find techniques to enhance their data access, manipulation, and presentation prowess. Topics examined include database design; an introduction to SQL, dictionary tables, and tables; coding PROC SQL logic as well as complex queries; working with views; troubleshooting and debugging SQL code; and tuning for performance. With the growing popularity of databases, PROC SQL is becoming the language of choice for SAS users around the world. Intermediate and advanced users will appreciate the straightforward explanations and numerous examples. Achieve expert results with the techniques and strategies detailed in PROC SQL: Beyond the Basics Using SAS

Output Delivery System by Lauren E. Haworth Output Delivery System: The Basics is an example-driven book that is gearedtoward beginner and intermediate ODS users and that demonstrates the many wonders of ODS. Beginning with basic syntax and progressing to more complex techniques and custom styles, you will learn to take basic SAS output and transform it into a beautiful integrated Web page, a word-processor-friendly RTF file, high-resolution printed output, and a bookmarked PDF file. You can also create a data set from the results of most procedures, allowing you to build your own custom reports. Each of the wide array of ODS techniques is presented in an easy-to-use, two-page layout with the text and code on one page and the resulting output on the facing page.

SAS Statistics by Example by Ron Cody In SAS Statistics by Example, Ron Cody offers up a cookbook approach for doing statistics with SAS. Structured specifically around the most commonly used statistical tasks or techniques--for example, comparing two means, ANOVA, and regression--this book provides an easy-to-follow, how-to approach to statistical analysis not found in other books. For each statistical task, Cody includes heavily annotated examples using ODS Statistical Graphics procedures such as SGPLOT, SGSCATTER, and SGPANEL that show how SAS can produce the required statistics. Also, you will learn how to test the assumptions for all relevant statistical tests. Major topics featured include descriptive statistics, one- and two-sample tests, ANOVA, correlation, linear and multiple regression, analysis of categorical data, logistic regression, nonparametric techniques, and power and sample size. This is not a book that teaches statistics. Rather, SAS Statistics by Example is perfect for intermediate to advanced statistical programmers who know their statistics and want to use SAS to do their analyses.

SAS Functions by Example, by Ron Cody Fully updated for SAS 9.2, Ron Cody's "SAS Functions by Example, Second Edition," is a must-have reference for anyone who programs in Base SAS. With the addition of functions new to SAS 9.2, this comprehensive reference manual now includes more than 200 functions, including new character, date and time, distance, probability, sort, and special functions. This new edition also contains more examples for existing functions and more details concerning optional arguments. Like the first edition, the new edition also includes a list of SAS programs, an alphabetic list of all the functions in the book, and a comprehensive index of functions and tasks. Beginning and experienced SAS users will benefit from this useful reference guide to SAS functions.

Learning SAS by Example by Ron Cody Ron Cody clearly explains a programming technique and then illustrates it with one or more real-life examples, followed by a description of how the program works. The text is divided into four major sections: Getting Started; DATA Step Processing; Presenting and Summarizing Your Data; and Advanced Topics. Ron Cody clearly explains a programming technique and then illustrates it with one or more real-life examples, followed by a description of how the program works. The text is divided into four major sections: Getting Started; DATA Step Processing; Presenting and Summarizing Your Data; and Advanced Topics.

Power and Sample Size Computations by John Castelloe

Cody's Data Cleaning Techniques Using SAS by Ron Cody Thoroughly updated for SAS 9, Cody's Data Cleaning Techniques Using SAS, Second Edition, addresses tasks that nearly every SAS programmer needs to do - that is, make sure that data errors are located and corrected. Written in Ron Cody's signature informal, tutorial style, this book develops and demonstrates data cleaning programs and macros that you can use as written or modify for your own special data cleaning needs. Each topic is developed through specific examples, and every program and macro is explained in detail. You'll learn how to find and correct errors in character and numeric values develop programming techniques related to dates and missing values use SQL approaches to data cleaning develop techniques for correcting your data errors use integrity constraints and audit trails to prevent errors from being added to a clean data set Novice and experienced SAS users will discover ways to detect and correct data errors while learning how to apply DATA step programming techniques and SAS procedures. We also have the first edition.

Cody's Collection of Popular SAS Programming Tasks and How to Tackle Them by Ron Cody

Carpenter's Complete Guide to the SAS Report Procedure by Art Carpenter Art Carpenter demystifies the powerful REPORT procedure and shows you how to incorporate this highly flexible and customizable procedure into your SAS reporting programs. Combining his years of SAS experience with a talent for instruction, Art offers clear and comprehensive coverage that demonstrates how valuable this procedure is for both summarizing and displaying data. Illustrated with more than two hundred examples and sample exercises to reinforce your learning, "Carpenter's Complete Guide to the SAS REPORT Procedure" provides you with information that you can put to immediate use. The text is divided into three distinct sections. Part 1 introduces you to PROC REPORT, showing you how it works and "thinks." This section is designed to be read linearly by users who are unfamiliar with the procedure. Part 2 is a collection of increasingly more complex examples that feature advanced options and capabilities. It also introduces the relationship between PROC REPORT and the Output Delivery System (ODS). Part 3 incorporates the options and statements described in Parts 1 and 2 into a series of examples that highlight many of the extended capabilities of PROC REPORT. Included in this section is a discussion of a few ODS statements and options that might be useful to a PROC REPORT programmer, plus an in-depth look at the PROC REPORT process itself, especially as it relates to the execution of compute blocks. Art's author page at support.sas.com/carpenter includes the following bonus material: example SAS data sets, example results, and a compilation of nearly 100 related conference papers.

A Step-By-Step Approach to Using the SAS System for Factor Analysis and Structural Equation Modeling by Larry Hatcher Using easy-to-comprehend terms and uncomplicated examples, author Larry Hatcher walks you, step-by-step, through this introduction to using SAS software for performing advanced statistical procedures in social science research and interpreting the results. Part one of the book discusses exploratory factor analysis at an easily understood, introductory level. Part two instructs the reader on how to use the CALIS procedure to perform confirmatory factor analysis, path analysis with manifest variables, and path analysis with latent variables. This book includes appendices that give basic instruction in using SAS software. Book jacket.