Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Staronová Synagogue, Prague, interior, c. 1280; photo credit: Erich Lessing/Art Resource, NY
Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: the West’s response to Jewish emigration
The Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees (IGCR) was organized in London in August 1938 as a result of the Evian Conference of July 1938, which had been called by President Roosevelt to consider the problem of racial, religious, and political refugees from central Europe.
Jerusalem Post (1932-1988) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
The Jerusalem Post is an Israeli daily English-language broadsheet newspaper, founded on 1 December 1932 by Gershon Agron as The Palestine Post in the British Mandate of Palestine. During the Mandate period, the publication supported the struggle for a Jewish homeland in Palestine and openly opposed British policy restricting Jewish immigration. In 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared, the paper was renamed The Jerusalem Post. While it was once regarded as left-wing, the paper underwent a noticeable shift to the right in the late 1980s. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
Association for Jewish Studies (AJS)
The Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) is a learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching, research, and related endeavors in Jewish Studies in colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning. the Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) is a learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching, research, and related endeavors in Jewish Studies in colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning.
From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish life in America
From Haven to Home is a Library of Congress exhibition marking 350 years of Jewish life in America. The exhibition features more than two hundred treasures of American Judaica from the collections of the Library of Congress, augmented by a selection of important loans from other cooperating cultural institutions.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Titles include Contemporary Jewry, Holy Land Studies, Jewish Culture and History, Journal of Palestine Studies, Studies in American Jewish Literature, and many more. Most references are not found in standard periodical literature guides. Index to Jewish Periodicals is intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Jewish American Heritage Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Jewish Americans who have helped form the fabric of American history, culture and society.
Jewish Women: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia
The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit to a broad public the rich history of American Jewish women.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Compiled and edited by the editorial board of 'Kiryat Sefer', bibliographical quarterly of the Jewish National and University Library.
Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority
Web site of Yad Vashem, the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority, which was established to commemorate the Jewish Holocaust during World War II.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600-1926
Includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries, in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.
Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, it is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online This link opens in a new window
The EJIW is the first cohesive and discreet reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
Australian Archive of Jewish Music Collection
[This collection of audio files is a subset of the unique Australian Archive of Jewish Music Collection located in the School of Music in the Performing Arts Building of Monash University. It covers pre-1950 recordings of Hebrew and Yiddish songs and performance representing the Jewish music culture of Australia and Asia.]