Data Science: Finding Datasets

Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints. 

Resources for finding datasets

Below are a list of tools available for locating data sets. They include tools available through the Business Library, for finding business and financial datasets and feeds.

Data indexes for searching for datasets

Data sources by subject

Databases for datasets and data feeds from the Business Library

Data indexes

Data Citation Index
The Data Citation Index™ provides a single point of access to quality research data from global repositories across disciplines. Descriptive records are created for data objects and linked to literature articles in the Web of Science.™

Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the internet.

Data sources by subject

This webpage takes you to a list of subject based data resources subscribed to through the UI libraires.

Health sciences datasets

Databases for datasets and data feeds from the Business Library

Eikon with Datastream
financial markets database that provides access to real time market data, economic and business news, analytics and trading tools.
Eikon with Datastream is installed on three computers in Pappajohn Business Building. --two in the Business Library's Biz Hub and One in the College of Business Finance Lab.
Please contact Kim Bloedel for more information kimberly-bloedel@uiowa.edu
FactSet
Personalized market data software for your PC or tablet, featuring real-time news and quotes, company and portfolio analysis, and rich commercial and proprietary content.
* Users must request an account using their uiowa.edu email: http://www.factset.com/survey/academic_id_request
iPoll databank
Users that have an email address with the extension @uiowa.edu can self-register by visiting: https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll/login although registration is no longer necessary to search or download when connected to the campus network.
Once users enter their email address, they should receive an activation email with a link to complete registration

IPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
Mergent Online
Source for global business and financial information. Provides news reports for "Moody's Manuals."

Real Time News Archive from Refinitiv
Data feed: JSON; Access FTP for account info contact Kim Bloedel (kimberly-bloedel at uiowa.edu)
From the vendor:
• Reuters company news by region
• Reuters political/general/economic/C&E news
• All Reuters News
• Top third-party press wires
• All third-party news source
Archives available
• Back to 1996 for Reuters News
• Back to 2003 for other news sources
Metadata:
• Topic Codes: over 2,300 codes tagged to asset class, geography, events, industry, sector, etc.
• Product Codes: over 600 codes identifying desktop news products/ audiences
• Named Item Codes: over 2,000 codes identifying regularly recurring news reports
• Attributions: identifying the news source
• Reuters Instrument Codes (RIC): identifying equities, indices, FX rates and C&E facilities
• Refinitiv PermID: open organizational identifier
• Timestamps: normalized across all news sources, in UTC

Databases needing special access permissions

Nielsen Data - Consumer Panel Data
The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of fast-moving consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets.
Access is limited to tenure track faculty and their doctoral students.
Contact Kim Bloedel for access and more information on eligibility & policies.
Nielsen Data - Retail Scanner Data
Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
Access is limited to tenure track faculty and their doctoral students.
Contact Kim Bloedel for access and more information on eligibility & policies.