Papers, 1911 – 2004. 4.75 linear feet. Dr. Mary Berg received a PharmD from the University of Kentucky in 1978 and joined the University of Iowa’s College of Pharmacy as an assistant professor in 1980. She became the first woman to be promoted to full professor in the College of Pharmacy in 1995. Berg’s research in pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics focused on gender-related differences in medication response. Her collection includes her edited volumes and text from her numerous international presentations around the topic of gender-specific medicine. References to Berg’s experience as a woman in a male-dominated field can be found in the General folder of the Presentations series and in her application to promote to full professor.

Papers, 1930 – 2003. 10 linear inches. Marion Jones Clark joined the Department of Bacteriology at the State University of Iowa in 1940, first as an Assistant Hospital Bacteriologist and later as an Assistant Professor. She left the University in 1960. Her collection includes her master’s thesis “Experimental Endocarditis Lenta in Rabbits,” and copies of several of her publications, which focus on tissue culture methods in microbiology and physiology. Two laboratory manuals detail the semester schedules for classes she taught: Diagnostic Bacteriology and Medical Bacteriology, and nurses’ laboratory instruction.

Papers, 1905 – 1996. 5.5 linear feet. Gwendolyn Wilson Fowler was the first Black woman to be licensed as a pharmacist in Iowa. She graduated in 1930, but was unable to find work in her field until 1944. For her induction speech to the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1987, Fowler wrote "1930 found me a graduate registered Pharmacist seeking employment. I was told that there was no position open because of the great depression, and that it was not profitable to hire women because of the limit on working hours, and that the Pharmacy had never hired a Negro." Most of her collection focuses on other aspects of her life such as community involvement and travel. However, the Employment series includes her pharmacy school yearbook, licenses and renewals, and a small amount of correspondence with an employer, Broadlawns Medical Center.

Papers, 1928 – 1994. 5 linear inches. Harriet Stevens joined the Army as a 2nd Lieutenant in 1942. She was promoted to 1st Lieutenant in 1943 and served as the Head Medical Hospital Dietician in Camp Gordon, Georgia, for most of World War II. She spent several months in 1945 working at a camp hospital in Great Britain. Several folders in her papers are dedicated to official Army documents from her service including physical examinations, promotion documentation, transfer notifications, and her honorable discharge in 1946. The collection also includes a brief seven pages of reminiscences of life working at the hospital in Camp Gordon, Georgia.

Papers, 1945 – 2017. 8 linear inches. Katherine Willson graduated from the State University of Iowa’s College of Pharmacy in 1954 and became a licensed pharmacist in 1955. Her papers have only a smattering of items related to her professional life. These include photographs, her course schedule from the College of Pharmacy, and her certifications.