Open Access Fees Covered
Research libraries are increasingly entering into open access agreements (sometimes called transformative agreements, read-and-publish or publish-and-read agreements) with academic publishers to allow affiliated authors to publish open access without paying article processing charges (APCs). Under this model, libraries pay publishers for access to a journal’s full content, as well as the right to make their researchers’ work open access, under a single contract and fee. This allows authors to publish OA without paying APCs. If you have any questions about open access agreements, please contact your liaison librarian or the Scholarly Impact department.
Articles published through our Open Access agreements are listed in the UI Libraries Support Open Access collection in IRO. Here are the open access agreements the UI Libraries has contracted so far:
- American Chemical SocietyUI corresponding authors can publish open access in ACS journals without paying APCs. Under this agreement, UI authors can publish a significant number of articles OA, but not an unlimited number.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)Any UI corresponding author can publish open access in ACM journals without paying APCs.
- Biochemical SocietyThe agreement guarantees uncapped, fee-free open access (OA) publishing for UI corresponding authors, alongside full read access to all Biochemical Society journals.
- Cambridge University Press (CUP)There will be no APC for UI corresponding authors who publish open access in CUP’s gold (40 titles) and hybrid journals (330 titles).
- Cogitatio PressUI corresponding authors can publish in Cogitatio’s four journals without paying APCs. This announcement provides more detail.
- Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory PressUnlimited open access publishing in CSHLP journals by UI-affiliated corresponding authors, without payment of open access fees or Article Processing Charges (APCs).
- Company of BiologistsUI authors can publish open access in Company of Biologists' 5 journals without paying APCs.
- Electrochemical Society (ECS)UI authors can publish open access in ECS journals without paying APCs.
- Geological Society of LondonUnlimited open access publishing by University of Iowa-affiliated corresponding authors in GSL hybrid journals and book series without payment of Article Processing Charges (APCs).
- IEEECorresponding authors from the University of Iowa are now able to publish open access articles in all IEEE journals.
- Institute of Physics (IOP)UI corresponding authors can publish open access in IOP journals without paying APCs. Agreement is effective between Jan. 1, 2023 and Dec. 31, 2025.
- John BenjaminsUnlimited open access publishing by UI-affiliated corresponding authors in all John Benjamins active journals and yearbooks, without payment of Article Processing Charges (APCs).
- Microbiology SocietyArticles published in this society’s journals will be OA by default for UI corresponding authors without paying APCs.
- Oxford University Press (OUP)UI corresponding authors can publish open access in OUP's hybrid journals without paying APCs.
- PLOS Medicine and PLOS BiologyEffective Jan. 1, 2021 to December 31, 2024, UI corresponding authors can publish in PLOS Biology and PLOS Medicine without paying APCs.
- Royal SocietyUI corresponding authors can publish OA in the society’s nine journals without paying APCs. Royal Society’s read and publish page contains more information.
- Royal Society of ChemistryCorresponding authors from the University of Iowa can publish an unlimited number of open access articles in RSC journals without paying APCs.
- WileyThe agreement supports unlimited Open Access (OA) publishing in Wiley hybrid and gold OA journals, including those from Hindawi. UI corresponding authors may publish OA at no cost to themselves.
As of October 2023, the funding from these agreements has saved UI authors over $1.5 million!
ORCID
ORCID stands for Open Researcher and Contributor ID. The ORCID initiative focuses on solving the name ambiguity problem by creating persistent unique identifiers and linking mechanisms between different ID schemes and research objects. An ORCID iD is a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from other researchers.
How can you get an ORCID identifier?
You can also easily create an ORCID iD with your UI credentials using the UI ORCID Planter tool.
What if you already have an ORCID identifier?
If you have already created an ORCID iD, log-in to the UI ORCID Planter tool, follow the prompts to the page that instructs you to to log-in and grant the university permission to read your ORCID record. If you are not registered, you will be presented with a pre-filled registration page.
Please watch how-to-video tutorial below.
Researcher Profile
University of Iowa researchers can Sign in to Iowa Research Online (IRO) to access their profile. These profiles are private by default and researchers can make their profiles public by clicking the Make your profile public? link.
Once you've made your profile public, you can find your profile URL by going to Edit Profile or Settings and then the My public profile link section:
To edit your research profile, please check out the instruction.
To learn more about the researcher profile system, check out Q & A document.
In addition, you can reuse Researcher Profile's bibliographies for your ORCiD profile. Please watch the how-to video tutorial.
Check out the following videos to see how to upload your publications in the IRO into SciENcv and/or my NCBI
How Can You Contribute to Open Education and Open Access?
- Open Textbooks for EngineeringThis resource aggregates information from around twenty different open educational resource websites and organizes it by engineering discipline and, in some cases, by subdiscipline. Created by Scholarly Communications Committee from the Engineering Libraries Division (ELD) of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).
- Engineering and Applied Science Societies Open Access Policies ResourceThis resource aggregated information about the open access policies and practices of a number of engineering and applied science societies into a single site.
- OpenHawksOpenHawks is a campus-wide grant program that funds instructor efforts to replace their current textbooks with Open Educational Resources (OER) for enhanced student success. The program is open to faculty, staff, and graduate students who teach for-credit courses and medical residencies at the University of Iowa.
Pre-Print Servers
Preprint servers are publicly available online archives that host and distribute preprints.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
- bioRxiv This link opens in a new windowbioRxiv (pronounced “bio-archive”) is a preprint server for the life sciences operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. Articles are not peer-reviewed or edited, although all articles undergo basic screening for non-scientific content and plagiarism, and for material that might pose a health or biosecurity risk.
- EdArXivA preprint server for the education research community. Powered by OSF Preprints
- medRxiv This link opens in a new windowmedRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed.
- PsyArXivA free preprint service for the psychological sciences. Maintained by The Society for the Improvement of Psychological Science. Powered by OSF Preprints
- SocArXivSocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.