New Resources
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowFrom feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
- Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new windowThis collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors throughout the twentieth century. Investigate the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading American sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and the public consciousness.
Oxford Handbooks Online
- Oxford Handbooks : History This link opens in a new windowOHO History brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in history. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
Featured Database
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. This collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, society, culture, and politics.
Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today’s debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement.
Microform Guides
- Media Services Microform Collection GuideThis annotated index of approximately 250 microform guides stored in The University of Iowa Main Library Media Services Department provides a summary of those holdings that have guides. This numerical index has been arranged as a shelf list, giving the order in which the guides are to be found on the shelf according to accession number. This is only a small portion of microforms available on campus; many microform materials do not have guide books.
- Microform Sets for Historical ResearchThe great untapped source of primary historical materials for history researchers in this area is the vast collection of microform sets held in the UI Libraries and the UI Law Library. This document lists sizable microform sets of potential interest to history researchers. It lists only microform sets that are "sizable," that is, those consisting of more than 6 reels of microfilm, or more than 40 microfiche, or more than 200 microprints or microcards.
Subject Guide
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Archive Finder
Archive Finder including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Powerful searching integrated with detailed subject indexing helps researchers to uncover historical collections.