Other Newspaper collections
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowNewspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: Chicago Tribune and Des Moines Register.
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Farm, Fields and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
- Farm, Fields and FiresideFrom the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this collection is a repository of digital facsimiles of historic agricultural newspapers published in the United States.To date, the repository contains more than 230,000 pages of farm newspapers, with another 70,000 pages in the works. More titles will be added to the repository as funding becomes available.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1931 - 2003
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1909 - 1975
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1849 - 1993
- Des Moines Register (1871-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Iowa City Press Citizen (1965-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Iowa Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Des Moines Register (1871-2008) and the Iowa City Press-Citizen (1965-2008).
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934 - 2005
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867-2001 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1922 - 1993
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851 - 2013
- Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1911 - 2002
ProQuest Historical Newspapers-Black Newspapers collection - St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1889-2000
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1877-2000
International Papers
-------------------------------------------------------- - Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage The Guardian: (1821-2003)
Coverage The Observer: (1791-2003) - Times of India, 1838-2010 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1838-2004
Historical Digital Newspaper Collections - U.S.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- 20th Century American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window20th-Century American Newspapers provides access to the issues of major U.S. newspapers published after 1922. Includes: Times-Picayune, 1923-1988 (New Orleans); Plain Dealer, 1922-1991 (Cleveland); Oregonian, 1922-1987 (Portland); Seattle Daily Time, 1923-1984 (Seattle)
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
- African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowIncludes Series 1 (1827-1998) AND Series 2 (1835-1956). Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers is a record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more
- American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new windowNearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism in the US and Canada from historic pressings to contemporary periodicals. Developed with, and made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle OnlineThe Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
- Chicago Defender (Black Studies Center)The full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender is available through the Black Studies Center site. It includes the Saturday edition (1910 to 1975) and the Daily edition (1956-1975).
- Daily Iowan Historic NewspapersDating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006.
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2 ,3 ,6, and 7, 1690-1922Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowHispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
- Historical Iowa City NewspapersThis archive covers newspapers in the Iowa City area from 1840 to 1929, made accessible through the Iowa City Public Library.
- The LilyThe Lily, one of the first newspapers for women, spans 1849 to 1856. Available through Accessible Archives
- Newspapers.com Library Edition-Iowa newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s (not current). Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of around 150 Iowa newspapers
Iowa Newspapers
- Newspapers.com Library Edition-Iowa newspapers This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s (not current). Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of around 150 Iowa newspapers
- Historical Iowa City NewspapersThis archive covers newspapers in the Iowa City area from 1840 to 1929, made accessible through the Iowa City Public Library.
- Daily Iowan Historic NewspapersDating back to 1868 the Daily Iowan Newspaper Collection provides access to digitized versions of The Daily Iowan and its predecessors: the University Reporter (1868-81), the Vidette (1879-81), the Vidette-Reporter (1881-1901) and the University Mirror (1881). The newspaper editions are full text searchable. Though not yet comprehensive, issues will continue to be added up to 2006.
- Iowa City Press Citizen (1965-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Des Moines Register (1871-) This link opens in a new windowPart of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) Iowa Collection.
- Iowa Newspaper - Community History ArchiveDigitized newspaper access from across the state of Iowa. Coverage varies by title.
NewsVault
- Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new windowCross-searching tool that allows users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple Gale products including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2
British Newspapers
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney. Although the majority is published in London, there are some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, as well as a handful of examples from the American colonies. It includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries
- 19th Century British Newspapers, (aka British Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
- Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new windowCompletely separate from the Times of London, the Sunday Times is known for their investigative journalism, providing commentary and analysis of the week’s news.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The
- Daily Mail Historical Archive,1896-2016 This link opens in a new windowAn online archive of every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement published in the Daily Mail (London).