We look forward to working with you and providing library and information literacy instruction for your courses! Request your instruction sessions using the Rhetoric Library Instruction Request form. Reminder: Perch reservations fill up quickly -- schedule early!
We have more classroom-ready activities and assignments available! Thanks to our ongoing collaboration with instructors and faculty from your department, we have a handful of new activities ready for you to revise and incorporate into your classrooms, all with integrated information literacy learning objectives.
Need assistance finding resources for your research? Want to talk through your topic or search for additional perspectives? We've got online meetings with librarians available! Schedule a consultation with a librarian and encourage your students to do so as well.
Chat with librarians over IM and encourage your students to do so as well. Our librarians are available 9am-5pm, Monday through Friday. https://www.lib.uiowa.edu/contact/chat/
Working on your own research and scholarship? Check out the UI Libraries Scholarly Impact Department. The UI Libraries’ Scholarly Impact department is committed to increasing public access to information and to the advancement of knowledge. We support UI researchers and scholars in maximizing the impact of their research and creative works. Through the development of infrastructure and personalized, responsive services, we assist with reputation management and increasing outreach to relevant audiences and stakeholders. We offer consultations for individuals as well as training sessions for groups
Checkout the Fall 2022 Main Library Gallery exhibition, A Hub, A Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City. The International Writing Program (IWP) has brought close to 1,600 writers from more than 150 countries to the University of Iowa since 1967. In celebration of the program’s 55th anniversary, this exhibition tells the story of IWP’s genesis, its role in cultural diplomacy, Iowa City as a site of literary praxis and global networking, and the images of Iowa that writers have carried home with them through their work. Curators Nataša Ďurovičová and Lisa Gardinier dove into Special Collections & Archives materials, including the Paul Engle Papers, the International Writing Program Records, the Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records, and more while researching for the exhibition. A Hub, a Network, an Archive also includes items from the University of Iowa Libraries circulating collection, IWP’s Shambaugh House, and friends of IWP in addition to large portraits of writers by photographer Thomas Langdon. A Hub, a Network, an Archive will be open between August 22 and December 16, 2022. Interested in bringing your class in for a tour? Please do. We've also got a classroom ready assignment/activity series mapped to Rhetoric learning objectives that you can use to guide student engagement with exhibit materials.
Special Sneak Peek!
A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City
Friday, August 19 from 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM
Location: Main Library Gallery, UI Libraries (first floor near north entrance of the Main Library)
Rhetoric instructors are invited to bring their classes over to the Main Library Gallery exhibit. Hear more about the items on display, discover ready-made assignments to use in your classroom, and meet the exhibit curators. Sara Pinkham, exhibition and engagement coordinator, and Katie Hassman, undergraduate engagement librarian, will be present to answer questions and help you learn how to schedule class visits to the gallery. Drop in any time between 11:00 a.m. and noon.
PLUS – After stopping by the Main Library Gallery, visit the new Stanley Museum of Art for an instruction open house. Preview Stanley classroom spaces and learn how to use campus collections in instruction at the museum. Tours will happen every half hour between 11:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. Learn more here: https://events.uiowa.edu/71449
Please let me, Cathy Cranston (firstname.lastname@example.org), know if I can answer any questions you might have. I will try to respond within 48 hours to all email inquiries. You can also schedule an appointment with me: https://uiowa.libcal.com/appointments/hassman.
Page updated: 2/15/2023