- UI Libraries home
- Guides
- Engineering Guides
- Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Medical Imaging and Nanotechnology
Electrical and Computer Engineering: Medical Imaging and Nanotechnology
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Medical Imaging and Nanotechnology
Medical imaging and radiation sciences cover a wide range of topics. If you're having trouble coming up with a topic, here are some keywords you can use that might help you get started:
- CT Scan
- Diagnostic Imaging
- Disease
- Endoscopy
- Examination
- Image Processing
- Intervention
- MRI
- Magnetic Resonance Imaging
- Nuclear Medicine
- Procedures
- Radiation Safety
- Radiography
- Radiology
- Techniques
- Tomography
- Ultrasound
- X-Ray
- PubMedProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.
- IEEE XploreProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, all current IEEE standards, and all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2015.
- SPIE Digital LibraryUSERS MUST LOGIN ON CAMPUS; Contains more than 70,000 full-text papers on optics and photonics from SPIE journals and proceedings published since 1998. It also includes citations and abstracts for most SPIE papers published since 1990. Plans are underway to expand the DL back to 1990 by the end of 2004, an archive of nearly 200,000 papers covering a wide scope of optical technologies and applications. Approximately 15,000 new papers will be added each year.
- CINAHLCINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals. Full text material includes more than 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based healthcare.
- ASM Materials for Medical DevicesAlternative Name(s) & Keywords: ASM Medical Materials
A comprehensive set of mechanical, physical, biological response, and drug compatibility properties for the materials and coatings used in cardiovascular and orthopaedic medical devices.
Primer of Diagnostic Imaging E-Book by
Widely known as THE survival guide for radiology residents, fellows, and junior faculty, the "purple book" provides comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of diagnostic imaging in an easy-to-read, bulleted format. Focusing on the core information you need for learning and practice, this portable resource combines the full range of diagnostic imaging applications with the latest imaging modalities, making it the perfect clinical companion and review tool. Features more than 1,200 detailed illustrations now in full color, plus images that clearly depict the latest applications of CT, MRI, PET/CT, and other diagnostic imaging modalities. Provides new coverage of non-interpretive skills such as quality and safe dosing. Balances new information and anatomic drawings with timeless, relevant material to fully prepare you for the boards and for daily practice. Explains the nuances of key diagnostic details for all body systems, including signs and symptoms, anatomic landmarks, and common radiologic-pathologic alterations, for the full range of radiologic modalities and specialties. Uses a bulleted format and provides mnemonics, descriptive terminology, and space for note taking that make it easy to learn and remember key facts, techniques, and images. Allows you to work through diagnoses with hundreds of differentials for board certification preparation. Clarifies the impact of the latest disease entities on the interpretation of radiologic findings.
ISBN: 9780323377508Publication Date: 2016-07-01
CT and MRI of the Whole Body, 2-Volume Set by
Now more streamlined and focused than ever before, the 6th edition of CT and MRI of the Whole Body is a definitive reference that provides you with an enhanced understanding of advances in CT and MR imaging, delivered by a new team of international associate editors. Perfect for radiologists who need a comprehensive reference while working on difficult cases, it presents a complete yet concise overview of imaging applications, findings, and interpretation in every anatomic area. The new edition of this classic reference - released in its 40th year in print - is a must-have resource, now brought fully up to date for today's radiology practice. Includes both MR and CT imaging applications, allowing you to view correlated images for all areas of the body. Coverage of interventional procedures helps you apply image-guided techniques. Includes clinical manifestations of each disease with cancer staging integrated throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Over 5,200 high quality CT, MR, and hybrid technology images in one definitive reference. For the radiologist who needs information on the latest cutting-edge techniques in rapidly changing imaging technologies, such as CT, MRI, and PET/CT, and for the resident who needs a comprehensive resource that gives a broad overview of CT and MRI capabilities. Brand-new team of new international associate editors provides a unique global perspective on the use of CT and MRI across the world. Completely revised in a new, more succinct presentation without redundancies for faster access to critical content. Vastly expanded section on new MRI and CT technology keeps you current with continuously evolving innovations.
ISBN: 9780323113281Publication Date: 2016-07-28
- UI Eng Library Protocols GuideSee more protocols on the Standards Guide
- CTisus.comCTisus is a website dedicated to CT scanning. The website is under the direction of Dr. Elliot K. Fishman, Director of Diagnostic Imaging and Body CT at Johns Hopkins Hospital.
- CT Organ SystemsSet of modules on specific areas of interest in CT scanning.
- Introduction to Chest Radiology: An Online Interactive TutorialThis web site is intended as a self-tutorial for residents and medical students to learn to interpret chest radiographs with confidence. Technique, normal anatomy and common pathology are presented. Quizzes are provided for practice and self-assessment.
- Lieberman's eRadiologyContains tutorials that teach medical students and residents basic and more advanced Radiologic imaging including CT, US, MRI, and Nuclear scans.
- NMR CourseThis course will describe mainly spin one-half nuclei for which the magnetic moment can orient with or against the field.
- RadiologyEducation.comA digital library of radiology education resources curated by Dr. Michael P. D'Alessandro, Division of Pediatric Radiology, the University of Iowa Department of Radiology.