Industry Research
- Business Source CompleteProvides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
- IBISWorldBusiness reports in four categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, and economic and demographic data. US, Global, and China coverage.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalSearch nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984- .
- Factiva (Current Events/Business News)Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
Industry profiles are in-depth documents that give insight into an industry, where it came from, and where it appears to be going. A typical report looks at the industry leaders, forces affecting the industry and financial data for the industry.
Where to search:
- MarketLine Industry ProfilesIndustry profiles offering standardized market data (including size & segmentation) and competitive analysis
- Mergent OnlineSource for global business and financial information. Provides news reports for "Moody's Manuals."
- StatistaProvides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
- GlobalEDGEA knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
- Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis Academic)Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
Market research is the process of collecting, analyzing and interpreting data about your target market, consumers, competitors, and the industry as a whole.
Where to search:
- MarketResearch.com AcademicAccess to extensive, detailed market research reports.
- Mintel ReportsOffers research reports covering European, UK-specific, and US consumer markets. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The reports are supplemented by brief digests of relevant recent events, UK and US demographic and economic statistics and useful lists. Coverage is 2001 to date.
- Passport (Consumer Industries)Euromonitor International’s global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world. It monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for products across all key countries.
- Richard K. Miller Market Research HandbooksRichard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) publishes eBooks focused on marketing and the consumer marketplace. RKMA business reference eBooks are used at most academic libraries at universities with an MBA program.
A supply chain is a network that connects a company to suppliers of raw materials. It is also used to deliver a product to customers. The better the supply chain management, the more of a competitive advantage the company has.
Where to search:
- IBISWorldAbility to run a report on Supply Chain
1. Search for type of manufacturing
2. choose related report
3. Choose Supply Chain under the "Products and Markets" tab - Mergent HorizonContains up-to-date company description, stock price performance, and financial data. Allows users to perform industry comparisons and peer-group analyses, evaluate a company's business based on its products and services, and identify its competitors, major customers, suppliers and partners. Covers all companies actively traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges.