Comic Book Resources: Databases / Articles
About Databases
Check business, cinema, history, medical, or other topical databases for articles on specific aspects of comic books; the list on this page is not meant to be exhaustive. An alphabetized listing of University of Iowa-subscribed databases is at http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/eresources/indexes.
Single-subject databasess
-
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists, this collection will contain more than 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this artform.
-
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new windowA fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.
-
Salem Press This link opens in a new windowSalem History sets include: American Encyclopedia of Immigration, Decades (Twenties - Seventies), Great Events from History (18th Century; GLBT), Great Lives from History (Renaissance, 18th Century)
Salem Literature sets include: Critical Surveys (Graphic Novels; Long Fiction; Poetry), Magill's Literary Annuals
Cross-searchable database collections
-
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowIncludes Academic Search Elite, Art Full Text, Communication & Mass Media, Education Full Text, ERIC, more.
-
ProQuest Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Archive Finder is a current directory of over 5,750 repositories and over 206,000 collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom. Archive Finder draws from three major information sources: the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS), the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS).
Archive Finder provides information for these types of primary source material:
- Collections of original manuscript materials such as family papers, personal papers, and collections about a person or subject. This can include printed material, maps, and photographs if it is part of a larger manuscript or archival collection.
- Single item manuscripts such as diaries, logbooks, account books, or letters
- Collections of private company or government archives provided that they are regularly available to the public
- Collections consisting entirely of handwritten, typewritten, or photo-reproduced copies of manuscripts or archives
- Oral history records consisting of tapes and/or transcripts of interviews.
This product is updated annually. -
Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
