"The daily news blog of comics news, reviews, and information."

News, columns, reviews, blogs.

"A collaborative comics blog published weekly on Tuesdays."

"Celebrating the best of TV, movies, and comics."

A subscription based comic book site created and owned by David Harper, the host of the weekly comics interview podcast Off Panel. "This site is designed to approach comics and the world around them from a unique perspective, taking deeper, research-driven dives into the stories behind the comics and the people who make them."

Afri-Comics were pro-Apartheid comics published in 1975-1977 as part of a “five-year secret propaganda war” by the South African government. This digital collection at UCLA is the only library collection currently known of this material in the world.

The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's digital image database contains scanned images from their collection. [Scroll down to select Billy Ireland collection].

"We are the original and still the premier site to read and download Golden and Silver Age comic books. Plus, we also hold a large and growing selection of comic strips and pulp fiction.
The even better news is that all the content is FREE and LEGAL."

"The best site for downloading FREE public domain Golden Age Comics."

Large collection of digitized comics books published by the United States government, provided by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

The complete first run of Little Nemo, 1905-1914, available at the Internet Archive under a Creative Commons license.

"This collection focuses on comics created specifically for the web and supplements the Library of Congress’ extensive holdings in both comic books, graphic novels, and original comic art."

A searchable database of freely usable media files, including comics images.

"This online exhibition presents a selection of British comics from the 1870s (the Ally Sloper era) to the 1930s (knockabout comics). The phrase "wonderfully vulgar" used in the exhibition title is taken from an interview in which Charlie Chaplin recalled his pleasure in reading comics as a boy in 1890s London.
The exhibition is based on a collection of around 5000 historical British comics housed in the Library (BIS) of the University of Oldenburg in Germany."

The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research is an international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields. Not included so far (with a few exceptions) are articles from fan magazines, newspapers and blogs. The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research sees itself as a complement and supplement to similar undertakings that have a different (wider or narrower) approach, such as ComicsResearch.org or the comics research bibliography.

Collects both comics about science and empirical research about comics.

"Comics research is a young discipline in German academia. CLOSURE consciously decides to promote young academic talent alongside more established researchers and therefore publishes innovative findings and approaches from students, doctoral candidates, post-doctoral candidates and professors." In German and English.

"Comicality: Studies in Graphic Culture means to question the specificity and the evolution of expression, production and reception modes of comics, illustration, caricature, cartoons... It adopts a continuous publication mode and is organized around a rigourous peer-review evaluation process mobilizing interdisciplinary scientific committees." In French and English.

Links to dozens of syllabi for classes teaching comic book content.

A "repository of comic-book circulation data and other materials of interest to comics historians."

Comics scholarship annotated bibliographies.

"The Comic Strip Library is a digital library containing a collection of public domain comic strips. Everything in the collection predates 1923 and is no longer under copyright in the United States. Currently the Comic Strip Library is more of a proof-of-concept and a work-in-progress than a fully realized project."

"This special collection examines representations of 'new normals' in comics in response to COVID-19's effects on everyday lives. The authors explore eerie connections between pandemic comics and coronavirus, changes in creator communities, and depictions of fear emanating through our phones. Edited by Dr Julia Round (Bournemouth University) and Dr Alexandra Alberda (University of Manchester)."

"This website is dedicated to all lovely medical students and professionals who struggle to remember medicine in orthodox way, here you will find fictional comics and cartoons with few details and case scenario to review the topic. we believe in “No fun No gain” slogan and if learning is not fun it doesn’t retain much, and studying is burden."

"A nonprofit, Internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building a database covering all printed comics throughout the world."

"A research community at the intersections of law, comics, and justice."

A website about medical comics; includes the Graphic Medicine Database.

Archive for the quasi-blog/quasi-magazine hybrid devoted to cultural criticism, mostly focusing on comics.

One Book Winnipeg commissioned a 20–page comic, illustrated by Ojibwe comics creator Alice RL, to facilitate appreciation and enjoyment of the book "This Place."

A freely avaialble, open access book from the University of Oxford which "serves as a first guide (in comics form!) to studying comics, with university students in mind but also anyone interested in the medium (secondary schools, book clubs, etc.)."

Mike's catalogs and indexes comics from a variety of publishers. Search tools allow exploration of comic stories and characters, cover galleries, and creator credits.

A blog by a scholar with a passion for early U.S. comic strips.

Available for viewing online or as a download.

A project undertaken by a team of comic enthusiasts, practitioners and educators to raise awareness of comics as a significant part of Singaporean cultural heritage, promoting a sustainable industry landscape by connecting comics practitioners, readers, academics and the wider community.

"[T]he largest site dedicated solely to graphic novel reviews to be found online."

"SOLRAD is a nonprofit online literary magazine dedicated to the comics arts. Run completely by a volunteer staff, SOLRAD publishes original content ranging from comics criticism, original comics, essays, interviews, and the promotion of small-press events and releases. The site is a platform for new, underrepresented, and otherwise marginalized creative voices, in addition to commissioning work from well-established cartoonists, critics, journalists, and authors."

The online home for Neil Cohn's research on drawing and visual language.

By CBLDF.org