Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARKive: Images of Life on Earth
Films and photos of the world's endangered species.
ASM Mammal Image Library
A non-profit educational service of the American Society of Mammalogists. A visual resource at all levels of instruction.
The Macaulay Library is the world's largest and oldest scientific archive of biodiversity audio and video recordings.
NOAA Photo Library
Images of weather, space, shore and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species.
NSF Multimedia Gallery
Images from the National Science Foundation's Multimedia Gallery
Nucleic Acid Database
The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies. Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids.
The Micropolitan Museum
The Micropolitan Museum exhibits captured images of micro-organisms.
USDA Plant Image Gallery
Photos and line drawings of U.S. plants, including many cultivated or foreign taxa.
All the Virology on the WWW
Numerous links to virology topics and resources on the Web.
Good definitions of all parts of the body including functions. (No pictures yet.)
Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
The Virtual Library of biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL).
This Project is comprised of several interactive tutorials on human biology, immunology, genetics, developmental biology, biochemistry, molecular biology, cell biology, and toxicology.
Classification of Living Things
This is a great introduction to taxonomic structure in the form of a tutorial and numerous explanations and definitions. Includes photos and sounds (for correct pronunciation).
Links to important drosophila resources, as identified by the Society for Developmental Biology.
Encyclopedia of Life
Aims to become a comprehensive, authenticated source of information about the world’s biodiversity freely available over the Internet. Encyclopedia of Life's portal includes more than 160,000 authenticated species pages, another 1.4 million base pages and links to 14 million pages of digitized biodiversity literature. In the newest version of the EOL portal, users can contribute photos and videos via the EOL Flickr Group, apply tags to images and provide comments on the content.
Compiled by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Endangered Species Division.
Human Genome Project
Explanation and links to the HGP mission and goals, ethical issues, and possibilities of human genetic research from the National Human Genome Research Institute.
Model Organism Resources
Links to important resources on specific model organisms, as identified by Society for Developmental Biology.
Neuroscience Information Framework
A dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools.
The goal of the Species 2000 project is to create a validated checklist of all the world's species (plants, animals, fungi and microbes). This is being achieved by bringing together an array of global species databases covering each of the major groups of organisms. Currently the database contains 260,000 species, 420,000 synonyms, and 180,000 common names with 90,000 references. It includes 18 contributing databases.
WWW Virtual Library - Biosciences
The WWW Virtual Library (VL) is the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee, the creator of HTML and of the Web itself, in 1991 at CERN in Geneva. Unlike commercial catalogues, it is run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of the Web, the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web.