Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
E-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
Search for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
If the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
5th ed. (2002) - NCBI Bookshelf [Jeremy M Berg, John L Tymoczko, and Lubert Stryer] Note: By agreement with the publisher, this book is accessible by the search feature, but cannot be browsed.
Dictionary of Animal Behavior
Covering every aspect of animal behaviour from adaptation to warning, this accessible A–Z also includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology
Dictionary of Biology
This new eighth edition has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent progress in the fields of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, with particular expansion to the areas of ecology, cell biology, and plant and animal development.
A Dictionary of Genetics
This eighth edition of A Dictionary of Genetics contains thousands of up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written.
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences
This new fourth edition has been completely revised and updated, covering all aspects in the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences.
A Dictionary of Zoology
This best-selling dictionary covers all aspects of zoology, including terms from the areas of ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology. It also provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals.
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics
The Encyclopedia of Biostatistics, 2nd Edition offers the definitive reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences. With the growing importance and application of biostatistics, reflected in the increasing number of statisticians employed in the pharmaceutical industry, healthcare sector and medical schools, this new edition will find widespread application in basic medical science; the planning, financing and distribution of health care; and the measurement of health care status and progress in the population.
The Encyclopedia of Mammals
Written by an international team of experts and edited by renowned zoologist Professor David Macdonald, this new edition of The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
The Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology is derived from the four volume print work containing nearly 1,000 articles. All the topics are divided into short, digestible entries.
Encyclopedia of Radicals in Chemistry, Biology and Materials
This Encyclopedia offers a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines.
The Encyclopedia of Underwater Life
A breathtaking insight into underwater life, this Encyclopedia offers unrivalled coverage of the fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit our rivers, lakes, and oceans.
The New Encyclopedia of Birds
The New Encyclopedia of Birds is the definitive single-volume guide to birds of the world. Entries prepared by a team of renowned biologists and conservationists give a systematic account of every family, covering their form and function, distribution, diet, social behaviour, and breeding biology.
The New Encyclopedia of Insects and their Allies
In this definitive and beautifully written book, Christopher O'Toole has compiled an authoritative overview of all the world’s terrestrial anthropods.
The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians
This superbly designed and illustrated encyclopedia has brought together a wealth of new and fascinating information on amphibians and reptiles in one volume.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology.
Biology E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
Cambridge E-Book Collection
Offers access to eBooks from our world-renowned publishing programme, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as humanities and social sciences.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
To use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must sign into a personal folder.
Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books
Elsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
Springer E-Book Collection
SpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer since 2005.
Wiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009.