Finding Journal Articles
There are several ways to find journal articles at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
- InfoHawk+If you know the title of the article you're looking for, search for it in InfoHawk+
- Citation LinkerIf you have all or part of the citation for the article you're looking for, use the Citation Linker to find it quickly.
- Alphabetical List of DatabasesIf you want to browse through some journal articles by author, topic or keyword, use one or more of these databases. This is a huge list of over 650 databases, so check out the Databases box for some recommendations.
- Interlibrary LoanIf the Library doesn't have the article you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
SciFinder
SciFinder is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, Medline and other resources. It is the world's largest curated collection of information on disclosed chemistry and related research. It indexes articles from journals, patents, conferences, books and dissertations as far back as 1830, most have links to full text.
SciFinder is available to University of Iowa faculty, staff & students only. Please click on this link https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/SciFinder for information and access.
Contact the Sciences Library at 335-3083 or lib-sciences@uiowa.edu if you need assistance.
More Chemistry Literature Databases
Find chemistry articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for 
in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
- Web of ScienceA citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- ChemRxivChemRxiv (pronounced "chem-archive") is a free online submission, distribution, and archival service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Preprints are not peer-reviewed, are unedited, and are not prepared for publication beyond the author's original submitted files. ChemRxiv conducts a basic screen for plagiarism, offensive language, and non-scientific content. Materials that may pose a health or other security risks, where identified, are excluded.
ChemRxiv is operated by the American Chemical Society, a non-profit and the world's largest scientific society, in collaboration with partners. - JoVE: ChemistryJoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal that seeks to “increase the productivity of scientific research” through the publication of “biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format”.
- Chemistry CommonsContains over 20,000 open access articles submitted by scholars at over 200 institutions, including the University of Iowa.
- ENTREZEntrez is a powerful federated search engine, or web portal that allows users to search a multiple of discrete health sciences databases, maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information with a single query string and user interface. NCBI includes the following databases: PubMed, PubChem, Genbank and many others.
General Science Databases
Find science articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please ask a librarian.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowCollection of electronic pre-prints in various sciences. The archive is based upon activities supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation under agreement with the Los Alamos National Laboratory, and by the U.S. Department of Energy.
- Ei Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowEngineering Village is a Web-based information service that offers a wide range of quality resources for information specialists, professionals, and researchers working in the applied science and engineering fields.
- JSTOR (Journal Storage) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years. - MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Also includes 500 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 188,000 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new windowProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- OSTI.GOV (Previously called: SciTech Connect) This link opens in a new windowYour connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy. SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of ScienceA citation reference that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1899-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1898-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), Medline and Journal Citation Reports, among other science and social science reference indexes. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]