Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books & E-Books
There are several ways to find books and e-books at the UI Libraries. Here are some useful tools. For assistance, please ask a librarian.
Use InfoHawk+ to search for books and e-books in the UI Libraries' collection.
E-book records are periodically added to the InfoHawk+ catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections.
Search for books and other materials in libraries around the world.
If the Library doesn't have the book you're looking for, request it via Interlibrary Loan and we'll get it for you from another library.
Chemistry E-Book Collections
E-Book titles are periodically added to the library catalog, but you can find them as soon as they are released by searching these collections. For a full list, visit E-Book Collections.
ACS Symposium Series
NB: Off-campus mobile (only) users must go directly to pub.acs.org
The ACS Symposium Series contains high-quality, peer-reviewed books developed from the ACS technical divisions' symposia. Each chapter is carefully authored by an expert in the field, and the collection of chapters edited by an internationally recognized leader in the field. The series covers a broad range of topics including agricultural and food chemistry, cellulose and renewable materials, chemical education, organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, materials, and many others.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection
To use the Full Download/Checkout functionality for an eBook, a user must sign into a personal folder.
Elsevier ScienceDirect E-Books
Elsevier purchase includes over 450 books published beginning in 2008.
Springer E-Book Collection
SpringerLink offers an integrated full-text database for thousands of e-books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
Wiley/Blackwell purchase includes over 2000 books for years 2007-2009.
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
5th ed. (2002) - NCBI Bookshelf [Jeremy M Berg, John L Tymoczko, and Lubert Stryer]
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. Contains all those compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds (200,000 records), Dictionary of natural products (120,000 records), Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds (90,000 records), Dictionary of pharmacological agents (30,000 records), Dictionary of analytical reagents (14,000 records).
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds.
A Dictionary of Chemistry
The sixth edition of this popular dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry.
Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects (DOSE)
The Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE) is a single source of all relevant data for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use of chemicals of environmental concern.
e-EROS: encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis
Contains a database of approximately 70,000 reactions and 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents. Fully searchable by structure and sub-structure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, and keyword. Also includes a searchable interface: Acronym finder (an interface for Scientific and technical acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations).
Encyclopedia of Radicals in Chemistry, Biology and Materials
This Encyclopedia offers a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines.
Handbook of High-Resolution Spectroscopy
Combining the knowledge of spectroscopy, laser technology, chemical computation, and experiments, Handbook of High-resolution Spectroscopy provides a comprehensive survey of the whole field as it presents itself today, with emphasis on the recent developments.
Handbook of Vibrational Spectroscopy
Vibrational spectroscopy is an area of analytical chemistry and measurement science that incorporates infrared and Raman spectroscopy. This reference work presents more than 300 detailed articles that discuss the theory, instrumentation, data handling and applications of vibrational spectroscopy.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary provides extensive data and descriptive information for thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena. Hawley’s provides descriptions of chemicals, raw materials, processes and equipment; definitions of chemical entities, phenomena, and terminology; and descriptions of an array of trademarked products used in chemical industry.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & Technology
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.
International Tables for Crystallography
The online version of International Tables for Crystallography provides access to a fully interactive symmetry database and all eight volumes in the series in pdf and richly linked html format.
Not only fundamentals but also applications of nanotechnology are presented in close to 100 contributions by leading professionals in this field.
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. Use it to access the combined wealth of trustworthy, experimental substance and reaction data and bibliographic data housed in the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Databases.
Smithsonian Physical Tables
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.