Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Page
This page collects Japanese websites on manga: i.e. Japanese comics or graphic novels. Although there are many websites which illegally upload copyrighted manga works, this online guide collects only authentic websites, operated by manga publishers and ebookstores. Many of these websites distribute free web comics and offer free previews of commercial comics, which may be useful for those who would like to review manga works for collection development, research and teaching.This online guide also provides links to manga related websites, such as news sites, online archives, and more.
Disclaimer: This online guide is meant to provide links to web resources created by third parties. Contents available through these websites may contain materials not suitable for educational purposes. The compiler of this online guide has no control over these websites and cannot be held responsible for website contents.
[Courtesy of Michiko Ito / The University of Kansas Libraries]
Open Access Comics
This box provides access to websites or comic titles which are completely open access. May be used for tadoku (extensive reading) exercise. Some websites contain contents which may not be suitable for educational reading.
Short manga stories (読み切りの作品) selected by COMIC メテオ
Links to a selection of short and complete comic titles.
マンガ図書館Z = Manga Library Z
Formerly known as J komi, this website provides access to out-of-print comics with authors' permission. All are free.
Sukima (スキマ) is an e-comic store but includes some free comic works and free previews of commercial comics. Registration may be required. This link leads directly to the list of titles which are all free.
Designed for SNS. This is similar to a short comic published in a newspaper. 1 page-length episodes are added and updated frequently.
Open Access Manga (Individual Titles)
This box introduces individual Open Access (=free) manga, as selected by the compiler.
One page manga, originally appeared via Twitter. Heartwarming stories between stray cats and humans. Created by 深谷かおる (Fukaya Kaoru).
Websites by Comic Publishers
This box lists the websites operated by major comic publishers to announce their new and popular comic publications. Some publishers separately operate serialized web comics (see the box in the middle column.) Free previews available.
S-MANGA (by Shueisha 集英社)
Operated by Shueisha (集英社), this website introduces all titles currently published in Shueisha's comic magazines. Titles are categorized by the magazines they originally appeared in. Free previews available.
Operated by Kodansha (講談社), this website provides news, recently published titles, and more. Also provides access to the website of each comic magazine as published by this company.
Serialized web comics (includes free previews)
This box lists selected websites for serialized web comics, which are mainly operated by well-known comic publishers. Each website includes dozens of titles. In most cases, the first few episodes and most recent episodes are available for free. Registration and/or purchase is often required to read full contents, such as when users are required to purchase "coins" or "points" to read chapters. Please also note that these services are often limited to within Japan or require credit cards issued in Japan.
Comic Walker (KADOKAWA)
Provided by Kadokawa. The fist three and the latest stories among 200 comic titles are available for free viewing. (added 3/4/2014.)
Comic ポラリス=Comic Polaris
Uploads every Thursday. Mainly designed for female comic readers.
Comic メテオ=Comic Meteor
Uploads every Wednesday.
This website provides a platform through which users can upload their original comics and novels.
The beginning and the latest episodes of comics, created by professional and indie comic artists are available for free.
Free web magazine to explore new comic artists. Operated by Kentaro Takekuma, who teaches the culture of manga at Tama Art University.
Operated by Shogakkan, this website mainly features web comic (indie) comic artists.
Comic Earth Star (Earth Star Entertainment)
Operated by Earth Star Entertainment. Some popular titles are published in both paper and e-book formats and are available for purchase in bookstores.
Operated by Akita Shoten (秋田書店), this website introduces web comics, and is frequently updated, though each title has a different update schedule. Membership registration required to access to some titles.
Operated by Shueisha (集英社), this website provides access to web comics and classic/popular titles originally published in 「ジャンプ」series. Registration is not required to read free contents. Purchasing points is required to read access-restricted contents, but accepted credit cards must be issued in Japan.
Introduces comics serialized in 『少年ジャンプ』 and other magazines, published by Shueisha. A mobile version is available.
Operated by Kodansha (講談社), this website introduces titles serialized in comic magazines by the company and original web comics. A mobile version is available.
Webmagazine is designed for female readers.Updates every Tuesday and Friday.
Operated by 白泉社. Popular/classic titles are now converted to web serial comics. Earlier episodes are open, but registration is required to read all chapters. A mobile version is available.
Operated by the editorial board of エレガンスイブ, this website introduces original web comics and previews of popular titles. The target audience is adult women.
ガンガンONLINE (Square Enix)
This web magazine provides original web comics and spin-offs of popular titles published by Square Enix. Only the first and most recent episodes are available. No registration is required.
Collection of comic essays. Each author creates short comic stories based on his/her own experience.
Part of Webエース, operated by 角川. This section provides free web comics, many of which are based on light novels published by the same company. Older chapters, if published in book/e-book format, are not available.
This box introduces e-comic stores. Many of these websites provide free previews. Typically these e-comic websites require membership or registration for purchase. However, please note that some services are limited to within Japan or requires the use of a credit card issued in Japan. Purchased contents may not remain accessible in the event a member's membership is canceled.
ebookstore specialized in comics. Digital comics are categorized by genres, and includes award-winning titles. Free previews are available. Operated by Yahoo Japan.
ebookstore for comics. Registration is required. Digital comics are categorized by genres, target audience, staff recommendation, etc. Free previews are available.
ebookstore which sells comics, light novels and other books. Free previews are available. However, users are required to use credit cards issued in Japan to purchase contents.
Other Comic Websites
On-Demand publication service for out-of-print comics.
Provides news on anime and manga. Updates daily.
これも学習マンガだ！Manga Entertainment 世界発見プロジェクト
This bibliographic website introduces selected comics useful for learning. Titles are categorized by subjects, such as literature, society, history, sports, etc.
Online Archives and Databases
Organizations, Museums, Institutes