Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The American Folklife Center
The collections in the Center's Archive of Folk Culture include folk cultural material from all fifty states, as well as United States trusts, territories, and the District of Columbia.
American Social History Project
City University of New York. Links and other sources offered by the project founded by the historian Herbert Gutman, a project which "seeks to revitalize interest in history by challenging the traditional ways that people learn about the past."
American Studies Recommendations by Richard P. Horwitz, University of Iowa
A wide ranging, highly regarded selection of sites in American Studies and related fields, along with links to some sites created by UI American Studies' Professor Richard P. Horwitz.
AS@UVA Yellow Pages: American Identities
Resources relating to ethnicity in America; includes annotated links to the most useful sites in the field.
The ASA, American Studies Association
The American Studies Association is the nation’s oldest and largest association devoted to the interdisciplinary study of American culture and history.
HEARTH: Home Economics Archive -- Research, Tradition and History
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Published between 1850 and 1950, these titles were selected by teams of scholars for the great historical importance they hold.
Guide to American Studies Resources
The Guide to American Studies Resources includes a directory of American Studies and American Ethnic Studies programs as well an index of grants, information about scholarly journals, etc.
The Modern English Collection
This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations from 1500 to the present, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest.
United States Historical Census Browser
Selected data sets, organized by census year.
Women Working: 1800-1930
Provides access to digitized books, manuscripts, and images from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on the topic of women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930.