Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AZ - Arizona Digital Newspaper Collection
Searchable database of 31 historical AZ newspapers from the 1850s to the 1920s
CAN - Democracy at War: Canadian Newspapers and the Second World War
An online searchable collection of over 144,000 newspaper articles relating to all aspects of the Second World War. Most newspapers are Canadian, and each article can be downloaded using Adobe Acrobat.
CO - Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection
This project includes digital versions of more than 100 newspapers from Colorado, dating from the 1850s to the 1920s. The database includes thousands of articles, graphics, letters to the editor, and advertisement
FL - Florida Digital Newspaper Library
Current Florida newspapers, digitized from 2005 - present;Digital Military Newspaper Library - a pilot project for military newspapers published in Florida and the Caribbean; Historic Florida newspapers;Historic News Accounts of Florida
GA - Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive
The Atlanta Historic Newspapers Archive spans the years 1857-1922
IL - Hyde Park Herald Digital Collection (Chicago)
An online archive of The Hyde Park Herald, a searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side.
This archive includes every known copy of The Hyde Park Herald from 1882 until 2008. New additions will be digitized on a yearly basis. There are missing past years of the publication. Clicking on the “Search by date” button will show the missing issues.
KY - Historic Kentucky Newspapers
Searchable database of over 70 historic newspapers, date range: 1860-1922
MO - Missouri Digital Heritage: Newspapers
Contains selected newspapers from Missouri that are searchable by individual title.
NC - North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project
Includes coverage of Edenton, Fayetteville, Hillsboro, New Bern, Salisbury, and Wilmington from the 1751 to the 1890s.
WA - Historical Newspapers in Washington
This project is part of Washington State Library's program to make its rare, historical resources more accessible. Search the growing collection by keyword or personal name, or browse by subjects such as industry, crime, pioneers, and religion.
Historical Newspapers Online
A great list of links to free, historical newspapers from across the U.S., including college publications.
Online Historical Newspapers from Penn Libraries