Find Articles
Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these large, multi-disciplinary databases. For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.
Look for 
in search results to link to full text resources (when available).
- Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa 
- Mobile-enabled resource;
General Databases/Indexes
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new windowSearch nearly 1,800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on companies, computers, advertising, marketing, economics, personnel, finance, taxation, etc. Includes the Wall Street Journal full-text 1984-
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases, including Academic Search Elite, which offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles, covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- ERIC (ProQuest version) This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowClick on the "ViewIt@UILink" in your results list for UILink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk+ Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [TO USE THIS OPTION FROM OFF-CAMPUS: Additional information about Google Scholar]
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic index to over 4,500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue (as early as 1665) . Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. This database is available through WilsonWeb and covers the time period from 1890-1982. (Formerly on WilsonWeb)
- SAGE eReference This link opens in a new windowSAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of carefully selected SAGE eBook, eReference and Navigator content, more than 5,500 titles in total, including scholarly titles, monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles across academic disciplines. Titles are easily searchable by keyword or collection making this the ultimate social science digital library for students, researchers, and faculty.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. From 1899 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge database.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Scopus]Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Social Sciences Citation Index or SSCI This link opens in a new windowSSCI is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, 1898 - present. Includes some full text. Part of the ISI Web of Knowledge database.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window[Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version.
If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this. - World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowWorld Newspaper Archive is a fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. This uniquely comprehensive online resource was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries - one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database of over 62,000,000 records from over 2,000 libraries around the world.
Additional Resources
Find Articles by Citation (ArticleLocator)
Use this tool to find an article when you already have a citation in hand (from a footnote, bibliography, or other source).
Alphabetical List of Databases/Indexes
What you should know about using electronic information resources: plagiarism, copyright, fair use, and terms of licenses