Social Work Library Resources: Journal Articles in Social Work
Databases, books and other library resources for social work research
Social Work Databases
I recommend these databases for Social Work Research. Contact me for personalized help with your research.
Dan the Librarian
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. PsycINFO's coverage is world
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides article abstracts from 1,800 journals in sociology, from 1952 to the present. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new windowERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics. Use for topics related to schools, teaching, counseling in schools, etc.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts current research (articles are from 1980 to the present) in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals, dating back to 1966. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field including: theory & practice, ar
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 1,700 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new windowIncludes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling—400 hours and more than 330 videos. Includes counseling demonstrations, consultations, lectures and transcripts.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowRECOMMENDED BROWSER IS CHROME; To limit searches to tests where the full text is available, use the “Full Text” checkbox. A research database from the American Psychological Association (APA) that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
Tutorials
- Registering for Document DeliveryHow to register for the UI Libraries' article and book delivery service.
- Finding Online Articles (InfoLink)Using the InfoLink system to check if journal articles are available online.
- Requesting Article DeliveryGetting article delivered electronically if they are not available online.
Current Awareness
Searches on this page are self-updating lists of articles from social work databases. For help finding articles on your topic or if these lists stop updating, please contact Dan the Librarian.
Gerontological Social Work
Links to article citations related to social work in the Abstracts in Social Gerontology database. Use InfoLink in each citation to check for article text.
Loading ...
Child Welfare
Citations to articles with the subjects child-welfare or child-abuse or child-protection and social-workers in the Social Work Abstracts database
Loading ...
