The Cambridge Handbook of Health Research Regulation by Graeme Laurie (Editor); Edward Dove (Editor); Agomoni Ganguli-Mitra (Editor); Catriona McMillan (Editor); Emily Postan (Editor); Nayha Sethi (Editor); Annie Sorbie (Editor) The first ever interdisciplinary handbook in the field, this vital resource offers wide-ranging analysis of health research regulation. The chapters confront gaps between documented law and research in practice, and draw on legal, ethical and social theories about what counts as robust research regulation to make recommendations for future directions. The Handbook provides an account and analysis of current regulatory tools - such as consent to participation in research and the anonymization of data to protection participants' privacy - as well as commentary on the roles of the actors and stakeholders who are involved in human health research and its regulation. Drawing on a range of international examples of research using patient data, tissue and other human materials, the collective contribution of the volume is to explore current challenges in delivering good medical research for the public good and to provide insights on how to design better regulatory approaches. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.

Bioethics, Public Health, and the Social Sciences for the Medical Professions by Amy E. Caruso Brown (Editor); Travis R. Hobart (Editor); Cynthia B. Morrow (Editor) This unique textbook utilizes an integrated, case-based approach to explore how the domains of bioethics, public health and the social sciences impact individual patients and populations. It provides a structured framework suitable for both educators (including course directors and others engaged in curricular design) and for medical and health professions students to use in classroom settings across a range of clinical areas and allied health professions and for independent study. The textbook opens with an introduction, describing the intersection of ethics and public health in clinical practice and the six key themes that inform the book's core learning objectives, followed by a guide to using the book. It then presents 22 case studies that address a broad spectrum of patient populations, clinical settings, and disease pathologies. Each pair of cases shares a core concept in bioethics or public health, from community perspectives and end-of-life care to medical mistakes and stigma and marginalization. They engage learners in rigorous clinical and ethical reasoning by prompting readers to make choices based on available information and then providing additional information to challenge assumptions, simulating clinical decision-making. In addition to providing a unique, detailed clinical scenario, each case is presented in a consistent format, which includes learning objectives, questions and responses for self-directed learning, questions and responses for group discussion, references, and suggested further reading. All cases integrate the six themes of patient- and family-centered care; evidence-based practice; structural competency; biases in decision-making; cultural humility and awareness of the culture of medici≠ and justice, social responsibility and advocacy. The final section discusses some challenges to evaluating courses and learning encounters that adopt the cases and includes a model framework for learner assessment.

Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics by Robert M. Veatch; Amy M. Haddad; Dan C. English The most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of its kind, Case Studies in Biomedical Ethics: Decision-Making, Principles, and Cases, Second Edition, explores fundamental ethical questions arising from real situations faced by health professionals, patients, and others. Featuring a wide range of more than 100 case studies drawn from current events, court cases, and physicians' experiences, the book is divided into three parts. Part 1 presents a basic framework for ethical decision-making in healthcare, while Part 2 explains the relevant ethical principles: beneficence and nonmaleficence, justice, respect for autonomy, veracity, fidelity, and avoidance of killing. Parts 1 and 2 provide students with the background to analyze the ethical dilemmas presented in Part 3, which features cases on a broad spectrum of issues including abortion, mental health, experimentation on humans, the right to refuse treatment, and much more. The volume is enhanced by opening text boxes in each chapter that cross-reference relevant cases in other chapters, an appendix of important ethical codes, and a glossary of key terms.

Resolving Ethical Dilemmas by Bernard Lo Resolving Ethical Dilemmas: A Guide for Clinicians, Fifth Edition   Now in its Fifth Edition, this respected reference helps readers tackle the common and often challenging ethical issues that affect patient care. The book begins with a concise discussion of clinical ethics that provides the background information essential to understanding key ethical issues. Readers then explore a wide range of real-world ethical dilemmas, each accompanied by expert guidance on salient issues and how to approach them. The book's two-color design improves retention of material for visual learners. An accompanying website lets readers access the full text, along with features designed to reinforce understanding and test knowledge.   New to the Fifth Edition: This edition includes new discussions of ethical issues as they relate to clinical practice guidelines and evidence-based medicine, electronic medical records, genetic testing, and opioid prescription. The book also includes an increased focus on ethical issues in ambulatory care. Readers will also find more detailed analysis of cases, more examples of ethical reasoning, more highlight pages relating clinical ethics to emergency medicine, oncology, palliative care, and family medicine. Also new are discussions of quality improvement and use of advance care planning rather than advance directives.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics by Stephen G. Post This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.

Source Book in Bioethics by Albert R. Jonsen (Editor); Robert M. Veatch (Editor); LeRoy B. Walters (Editor) Government agencies and commissions, courts, and legislatures have during the past several decades produced reports, rendered decisions, and passed laws that have both defined the fundamental issues in the field of bioethics and established ways of managing them in our society. Providing a history of these key bioethical decisions, this "Source Book in Bioethics" is the first and only comprehensive collection of the critical public documents in biomedical ethics, including many hard-to-find or out-of-print materials.Covering the period from 1947 to 1995, this volume brings together core legislative documents, court briefs, and reports by professional organizations, public bodies, and governments around the world. Sections on human experimentation, care of the terminally ill, genetics, human reproduction, and emerging areas in bioethics include such pivotal works as "The Nuremberg Code", "The Tuskegee Report", and "In the Matter of Baby M", as well as less readily available documents as "TheDeclaration of Inuyama", the Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences' statement on genetic engineering, and "The Warnock Committee Report" on reproductive technologies from the United Kingdom. Three eminent scholars in the field provide brief introductions to each document explaining the significance of these classic sources.This historical volume will be a standard text for courses in bioethics, health policy, and death and dying, and a primary reference for anyone interested in this increasingly relevant field.