Radiology Resources: EBM

Radiology Resources

Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.

Hardin Library Resources

Hardin Library
InfoHawk+ Catalog
Databases
E-Journals
E-Books

Mobile Apps

All of these resources are available to University of Iowa affiliates at no cost. They are paid for by the University of Iowa Libraries.

Access Mobile App (Medicine, Pharmacy, & Surgery)
Available for iOS devices and Androids only.
Users can search vetted and trusted medical and allied health content across a variety of mediums that best fit their learning needs, including: Video, Podcasts, Images, Infographics, Textbooks, Q&A, and cases as well as clinical tools and electronic textbooks. The app is powered by Unbound Medicine and provides access to:
Quick Medical Dx and RX, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, Diagnosaurus, Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. Additional content available in the full desktop version.

more... less...

1. Go to AccessMedicine via Hardin Library http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/accessmed
2. Create an account by clicking on the box at the top right of the screen that says “Univ of Iowa Hardin Library.”
3. Select “Login or Create a Free Personal Account.”
4. Once you have your username and login, download the Access app (all are available in one with the Access- by McGraw Hill app) from the App store, Google Play or the Windows store.
5. Login with your AccessMedicine Account.
BMJ Best Practice
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

more... less...

1). Navigate to BMJ Best Practices using the link above.
2). Create an account using your uiowa email address.
3). Search for and download app from the App Store, Google Play, or another app distributor.
4). Sign in to app using the account you created in BMJ Best Practice. Note: You do not need to provide an institutional ID.
5). You will receive a message to download topics. You may download "All Topics" available through the University of Iowa subscription. This may take a few minutes. WARNING: This may require over 1GB of available storage.
6). If you are concerned about storage space, you can choose individual subjects to download, or remove subjects after all are downloaded.
7). Clicking on "Profile" in the app will tell you when your subscription expires. You will need to re-validate your app account after that date to continue using.
BoardVitals Mobile App
Available for: iOS, Android.
Prepare for the medical boards with online board-style practice questions from BoardVitals. Study anywhere, any time, with custom quizzes, including offline access.

more... less...

1. Access BoardVitals in a browser at https://login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=https://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/boardvitals
2. Create an account by clicking on "set up a personal account" the first blue hyperlink. This works best at a desktop computer. Be sure to use your uiowa email.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Board Vitals. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your BoardVitals account.

BrowZine Mobile Apps
Available for iOS, Android, and Kindle devices. BrowZine works by organizing the articles found in Open Access and subscription databases, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common newsstand. The result is an easy and familiar way to browse, read and monitor scholarly journals across the disciplines.

1. Download the app.
2. When prompted, select "University of Iowa" from the list.
3. Log in with your HawkID and password and you're ready to use the app.
4. When you try to add a journal to My Bookshelf for the first time, you’ll be prompted to create a BrowZine account to log in. Having a BrowZine account will allow seamless synchronization of My Bookshelf across all devices and the web version.

ClinicalKey mobile app
Available for: iOS, Android
The ClinicalKey app provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to use the app. Additional content is available from the full desktop version of ClinicalKey.

more... less...

1. Open the App Store, Google play, or the Windows store on your mobile device.
2. Search for “ClinicalKey” and install at no charge.
3. Once in the app, you will be prompted to choose an edition. Choose "Global."
4. Two options will appear – Clinical Key Nursing and Clinical Key. Click on ClinicalKey.
5. Log in with your Personal Account in ClinicalKey ( Or go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/clinicalkey to create your Personal Account and follow steps 6-11).
6. Click on the Register link at the top right of the screen.
7. Create a personal account using your University of Iowa email.
8. Click on the "hamburger menu" icon in the upper right-hand corner (three horizontal lines).
9. Choose "Remote Access" from the list of options. Enter your University of Iowa email.
10. You should receive an email to confirm your account. You will need to click the link in that email before your remote access is granted.
11. Use your University of Iowa email address and the password for the account you just created to log into the Clinical Key app on your device. You should now have access to Clinical Key on your device from anywhere.
DynaMed Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.

more... less...

1. Access Dynamed Plus in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Dynamed Plus. Be careful, as there are mutliple Dynamed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your Dynamed Plus account.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy Mobile App

Only works on iPad.

1). Open the App store on your device and search for "Gale Interactive", then download "Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy."

2). If prompted for credentials enter the following:
Username: uiowa_main
Password: uiowa_log

If logging in for the first time from on-campus, you may not be prompted for credentials.

IBM MicroMedex Drug Ref
Available for: iOS, Android
Provides information on adult and pediatric dosing, adverse effects, and drug interactions and much more.

more... less...

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
IBM Micromedex Drug Interact
Provides information on drug interactions from contraindicated to minor and details information on why the drugs interact, how interactions present in patients, and recommendations for monitoring patient outcomes.

more... less...

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
IBM Micromedex IV Compat
Powered by Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database and provides information on IV medications including potentially dangerous combinations, the interpretation of conflicting compatibility results, and drug-solution compatibility results.

more... less...

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
IBM Micromedex Pediatrics Ref
Provides information for efficiently and safely manage drug therapy for pediatrics patients

more... less...

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
IBM Micromedex NeoFax Ref
Provides information on neonatal drug dosing

more... less...

To install a Micromedex app:

1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Mobile Application Access" on the top right of the screen.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.

Note: Reauthentication is needed on a quarterly basis. After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the current quarter. At the end of this time, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password.

Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. You should be sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using the app to ensure you have the latest information.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (uCentral)
Available for: iOS, Android.
uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.

more... less...

To access this resource:
1. Search for "uCentral for Institutions" in the app store.
2. Download the free version of the app
3. If you haven't already, create an account in the full John's Hopkins ABX by clicking on the link above in a browser, then "register for a free account."
4. Log into the app with the account you created in the previous step
The Medical Letter app
Available for: iOS, Android
The Medical Letter website makes available: The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics (all issues) with CME/CE, Drugs for Parasitic Infections, The Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, and Drug Interactions from The Medical Letter.

more... less...

1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/MedLetter
2. Click the Mobile Apps link under Products on the left side of the screen.
3. Fill in the registration form using your Iowa email to set up a password.
4. Open the App Store on your mobile device, search for “the Medical Letter” and install at no charge.
5. Log in with the password you created earlier.
Stat!Ref Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.

more... less...

To download the app:
1. Access StatRef! via Hardin Library or http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/statref
2. Click the “MyStatRef” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Temporary Login Account.” Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the Stat!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.

Once you are authenticated, your login will work for 180 days. After that, you will need to log in to StatRef! via Hardin Library and renew your account following steps 1-4.
UpToDate Mobile
Available for iOS, Android.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that synthesizes the most recent medical information into verifiable, evidence-based recommendations.

more... less...

To install the app:
1. Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) via http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address. Write down your new username and password as this will be used later.
4. Submit your registration.
5. Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6. Install the mobile application on your device from the app store.
7. Open the application.
8. Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.
9. Allow notifications. This will tell alert you when you need to re-validate your account, as mentioned below.

Users will need to re-validate their access every 90 days. This can be done by accessing UpToDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.

To re-validate:
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Sign in" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
VisualDX Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Visual DX Mobile is a differential diagnosis tool with images and point of care information.

more... less...

1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
3. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
4. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the Apple App Store.
5. Enter your log-in information into the App.

To renew the app:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click the login link at the top right of the screen.
3. Enter your information, or reset your password.

Evidence-Based Medicine

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments; DARE critiques other systematic reviews in a structured abstract format; CENTRAL provides a repository of clinical trial citations.

DynaMed
A point-of-care medical reference updated daily by a review of the medical literature. Organized in a structured note format, content is easy to navigate; both overall recommendations and specific study results are included; available for PDA download.

National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
NCCN develops resources that present valuable information to the numerous stakeholders in the health care delivery system. As the arbiter of high-quality cancer care, NCCN promotes the importance of continuous quality improvement and recognizes the significance of creating clinical practice guidelines appropriate for use by patients, clinicians, and other health care decision-makers.

PubMed Main Search Page

Use this basic search for quick access to general research. The Review tab will limit to overview or introductory articles. Use the "All Child" Limit to restrict results to pediatrics.

PubMed Clinical Queries

Search by Clinical Study Category: This feature enables a quick search for different study types: etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Always use the narrow, specific search for a reasonable number of results.
Find Systematic Reviews: Quickly find gold standard evidence-based medicine. This search will find:
- Systematic Reviews
- Meta-Analyses
- Practice Guidelines

TRIP Database
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) is a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine. Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.

PubMed

Matt Regan

Email Me

Contact:

HLHS 213

(319) 384-1407

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Sciences Departments and Programs

Get More Help

Have a general library question?

Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu