Radiology Resources: EBM

A collection of radiology resources for students, residents, faculty and staff.

Hardin Library Resources

Hardin Library
InfoHawk+ Catalog
Databases
E-Journals
E-Books

Mobile EBM Resources

Mobile Device Resources
Visit Hardin Library's Mobile Device Resources guide for a complete list of mobile resources and installation instructions.
DynaMed Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Over 2000 entries are organized in an easy to navigate structured note format; includes both overall recommendations and specific study results.
more...less...
1. Access Dynamed Plus in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Dynamed Plus. Be careful, as there are mutliple Dynamed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your Dynamed Plus account.
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (uCentral)
Available for: iOS, Android.
uCentral is the Unbound Medicine portal to the John Hopkins ABX guide, pre-selected MEDLINE content, and links to uCentral downloads and tools including a mobile app.
more...less...
To access this resource:
1. Search for "uCentral for Institutions" in the app store.
2. Download the free version of the app
3. If you haven't already, create an account in the full John's Hopkins ABX by clicking on the link above in a browser, then "register for a free account."
4. Log into the app with the account you created in the previous step
Natural Medicine (formerly Natural Standard) Mobile
This App is unavailable at this time.
Stat!Ref Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. This app provides you with access to ACP Smart Medicine, the Merck Manual, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and more.
more...less...
To download the app:
1. Access StatRef! via Hardin Library or http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/statref
2. Click the “MyStatRef” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Temporary Login Account.” Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the Stat!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.

Once you are authenticated, your login will work for 180 days. After that, you will need to log in to StatRef! via Hardin Library and renew your account following steps 1-4.
UpToDate Mobile
Available for iOS, Android.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that synthesizes the most recent medical information into verifiable, evidence-based recommendations.
more...less...
To install the app:
1. Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) via http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Log In/Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address. Write down your new username and password as this will be used later.
4. Submit your registration.
5. Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6. Install the mobile application on your device from the app store.
7. Open the application.
8. Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.
9. Allow notifications. This will tell alert you when you need to re-validate your account, as mentioned below.

Users will need to re-validate their access every 90 days. This can be done by accessing UptoDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.

To re-validate:
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Login" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
VisualDX Mobile
Available for: iOS, Android
Visual DX Mobile is a differential diagnosis tool with images and point of care information.
more...less...
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
3. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
4. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the Apple App Store.
5. Enter your log-in information into the App.

To renew the app:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click the login link at the top right of the screen.
3. Enter your information, or reset your password.

Evidence-Based Medicine

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases, providing clinicians reliable and current information on the effects of interventions in health care. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews are the gold standard of medical literature, providing comprehensive research analyses on a variety of medical treatments; DARE critiques other systematic reviews in a structured abstract format; CENTRAL provides a repository of clinical trial citations.

DynaMed
A point-of-care medical reference updated daily by a review of the medical literature. Organized in a structured note format, content is easy to navigate; both overall recommendations and specific study results are included; available for PDA download.

National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN)
NCCN develops resources that present valuable information to the numerous stakeholders in the health care delivery system. As the arbiter of high-quality cancer care, NCCN promotes the importance of continuous quality improvement and recognizes the significance of creating clinical practice guidelines appropriate for use by patients, clinicians, and other health care decision-makers.

PubMed Main Search Page

Use this basic search for quick access to general research. The Review tab will limit to overview or introductory articles. Use the "All Child" Limit to restrict results to pediatrics.

PubMed Clinical Queries

Search by Clinical Study Category: This feature enables a quick search for different study types: etiology, diagnosis, therapy and prognosis. Always use the narrow, specific search for a reasonable number of results.
Find Systematic Reviews: Quickly find gold standard evidence-based medicine. This search will find:
- Systematic Reviews
- Meta-Analyses
- Practice Guidelines

TRIP Database
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) is a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine. Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.

PubMed

Matt Regan

Email Me

Contact:

HLHS 213

(319) 384-1407

Subjects: Health Sciences, Health Sciences Departments and Programs

Get More Help

Have a general library question?

Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

Phone: 319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu