Hardin Library Resources
Key Resources
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information in Medline and other sources. (See the available Help Sheet). For full functionality, log in to your MyNCBI account..
Drug Resources
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowAccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download book chapter PDFs. - Micromedex This link opens in a new windowMicromedex is a search engine for drug databases that provides in-depth information for drugs (both prescription and over-the-counter commercial products), diseases, toxicology, and alternative medicine. It also provides patient counseling tools for medications, procedures, and conditions as well as dosing calculators. Databases searched include POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, DISEASEDEX, PDR, MARTINDALE, and RED BOOK.
- AccessMedicine Drug IndexContains drug monographs.
- Drugs@FDASearch for official information about FDA approved brand name and generic drugs.
- EpocratesProvides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. This is a free resource but registration is required to access some features. Other features require an individual subscription. Mobile version (Epoctrates Rx) is available. Students can contact Epocrates at 1-800-230-2150 for information on discounts for individual subscriptions.
- National Library of Medicine Drug Information PortalUse this gateway for selected drug information on over 15,000 drugs from U.S. Government agencies spanning the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
ISBN: 9781264258079Publication Date: 2022-11-01
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs by
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions, Sixteenth Edition builds on the success of the 15 previous editions, providing an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature, making this a must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company. The online version of the book provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking, and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organized alphabeticallyCompletely expanded coverage of each drug, with more than 1,500 drug articles and information on adverse reactions and interactionsClearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading, including case histories to provide perspective on each listingExtensive bibliography with over 40,000 referencesA must-have reference work for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary, or pharmaceutical company
ISBN: 9780444537171Publication Date: 2015-10-30
Library Liaison
Chris Childs
Contact:
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752
100 Hardin Library
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1098
319-335-9849
Fax 319-353-3752