Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History of Health Sciences Illustrations
University of Toronto, Anatomia, 1522-1867
This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
NLM Historical Anatomies on the Web
Historical Anatomies on the Web is a digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.
Wellcome images - 2000 years of human culture
Contains thousands of historical images from the Wellcome Library collections, Tibetan Buddhist paintings, ancient Sanskrit manuscripts written on palm leaves, beautifully illuminated Persian books and much more.
Index of Medieval Medical Images (IMMI)-UCLA
The Index of Medieval Medical Images project began in 1988 and aimed to describe and index the content of all medieval manuscript images (up to the year 1500) with medical components held in North American collections. The goal of this 2001 pilot project was to make a substantial sample of the images and descriptions available via a searchable database on the Web.
Medicine and Madison Avenue - Duke
This website explores the complex relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue," as the latter is colloquially termed. The Medicine and Madison Avenue Project presents images and database information for approximately 600 health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines. These ads illustrate the variety and evolution of marketing images from the 1910s through the 1950s.
Seeing is believing - 700 years of scientific and medical illustration - NYPL
These examples, which enable detailed study of the illustration processes featured in this website, provide a better understanding of the different printing techniques and the utility of these processes in illustrating scientific and medical concepts over the last 700 years.
Portraits engraving collection - Yale
In the era before photography, portrait engravings were the only means of distributing images of famous individuals, including noted physicians and scientists. Many of these portraits were engraved from oil paintings, though some were based on sketches from life. Historians have recently begun to examine them for insights into the medical profession's self-image. The Historical Library's engraved portraits number in the thousands, and date from the sixteenth to the late-nineteenth century.
Images from the John Martin Rare Book Room - University of Iowa
Advances in imaging technology have allowed Hardin Library staff members to capture and deliver many of the striking illustrations and text that comprise some of the works in the John Martin Rare Book Room. These images have been incorporated into The University Libraries digital enterprise and can be viewed by going to the Iowa Digital Library
and selecting Images from the John Martin Rare Book Room
Contact Hardin Library
For general library questions, contact the Hardin Library reference desk.